Halloween Makeup Picks

I know it’s only the 4th of October but we’ve officially entered the month of Halloween which means it’s time to get festive! I have so much Halloween content planned for the next few weeks, so naturally I’m kicking things off with some makeup picks I think are perfect for the spooky season! From their gothically gorgeous packaging to their burnt orange and vampy shades, these makeup picks just scream Halloween to me! Plus, while the rest of the world embraces everything there is to love about Autumn, I’m using Halloween as an excuse to rock the copper eyeshadows and dark lips that are also super Autumnal! If you enjoy this post please give it a “like” so I know, and let’s get into the Halloween makeup picks!

Base 

Starting with our base, I can never put down my Kat Von D Shade + Light Contouring Kit. This thing has been through it, and for good reason. Kat controversy aside for a moment, these powders are amazing. They’re so pigmented, blend like a dream, and almost feel creamy in the way that they just work on your skin. The darker shades are too dark for me, but the lighter shades and the bronzer are perfect and give me a flawlessly contoured look every single time. I won’t be buying this ever again though as I don’t support Kat Von D, it’s bulky and heavy and I don’t use half the shades, but the gothic packaging is so Halloween appropriate. 

IMG_2857.jpg

Sticking with dark, luxurious packaging, anything from NARS is inside and outside just gorgeous. A long time favourite blush of mine is their Orgasm blush, which is a pink shade with flecks of gold throughout it when I personally don’t think even show up on your skin, it just gives you a really nice wash of colour though. 

For a highlighter, I can’t go past my BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop. Will I ever stop recommending this thing? Probably not. It’s stunning and just so glowey without being shimmery or glittery. It’s definitely worth the high price tag as you only need a little bit for a whole lot of highlight. 

Eyes

Moving to the eyes, the Violet Voss Holy Grail eyeshadow palette is a no brainer for this time of the year. Packed with every shade a warm toned lover could ask for, this palette suits your every need. From transitional shades to oranges, coppers, golds, burgundies, browns and everything in between, this palette is perfect, especially for Halloween and Autumn. Plus, the black, almost velvet like packaging with the swirly silver writing is so cute. You can read my full review on this palette for more of my thoughts plus swatches of every shade!

IMG_2858.jpg

On a smaller scale, the NARS Isolde eyeshadow duo is for the minimalist, but it’s size does not equate to quality. With one orangey copper and one on the more darker side, this duo will help you create the perfect copper eye in no time. NARS eyeshadows are incredible, they are so freaking soft, pigmented and luxurious to use! For more thoughts and swatches of this duo, check out my review post

To finish off the look and to create a wing sharper than the grim reapers scythe, I love using the Maybelline Master Precise liquid eyeliner. Pigmented and affordable, this liner and it’s tiny, precise brush makes it so easy to create whatever shape you desire. I recommend keeping your eyeliners stored upside down so the product is always at the tip and ready to use, not drying up at the bottom or on the side of the tube. 

Lips

Finally, onto lips! I feel like I’ve mentioned Kylie Cosmetics a lot on my blog recently but she has a shade literally called Pumpkin so I couldn’t not include it. Pumpkin is a burnt orange shade that dries slightly darker than it looks in the tube. It’s a lovely alternative if you want to start wearing darker colours but don’t want to wear a dark red, or even a black.

IMG_2856.jpg

If you do love wearing those colours, the Metal Matte shade Reign, also from Kylie Cosmetics, is so gorgeous. It’s a metallic liquid lipstick that dries down, and I would recommend layering it on top of a dark lipstick so it doesn’t look streaky. Speaking of, the shade Del Rio by Mac is stunning. It’s a dark, warm plum shade in a satin finish and it’s perfect for this time of the year. 

So those are my Halloween Makeup Picks! What makeup do you love to wear around this time of the year? Leave me a comment below, I’d love to know your thoughts! 

Also, don’t forget to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it so I know! 

All the love, 

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | BLOGLOVIN’ | TWITTER

29 thoughts on “Halloween Makeup Picks

  1. That Violet Voss Palette is the prettiest thing ever! It is totally up my street and reminds me of the Modern Renaissance palette so much! This is a great post so well done 🙂 I look forward to seeing more of your halloween posts 🙂 xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Hey! If you google Kat Von D controversy, stuff will come up, but basically I don’t support her because she dated a very open and proud Nazi supporter for a long time, which means her views aligned with his. She also used to sign posters and merchandise with Jewish slurs. The lack of diversity in her makeup company and team has been brought to her attention too and the way she handled the situation wasn’t great, she basically attacked the person online who brought it up. A lot of this happened years ago (however the makeup company thing was in recent years) but it still left a bad taste in my mouth, so I’m happy to not buy anything more from her in the future. I like to state in my posts whenever I mention her products that I no longer support her, in case people think I’m endorsing her and her behaviour.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey! I take my photos on my iPhone 6s but edit them heaps by upping the brightness and contrast and a little bit of the saturation and sharpness. I also always take my photos with heaps of natural light and my walls are white so the colour is pretty bright to start with. Hope that helps! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

