Too Faced Love Light Prismatic Highlighter Review

When I say I’ve waited months on end for the new Too Faced highlighters to drop, I am not overreacting. In the middle of last year I saw a photo of their new Love Light Prismatic highlighters floating around on the internet and became obsessed with them immediately. There was a rumour going around they were going to be the Too Faced x NikkiTutorials collaboration, but that collection came and went without any mention of these highlighters. Fast forward to now, and these highlighters have finally hit the shelves as part of Too Faced’s new Natural Love range! After hearing mixed reviews about them, I popped into Mecca Maxima to suss out the situation myself. I liked what I saw, and when I realised there was only one left of the shade I wanted, Ray of Light, I took it as a sign to splurge and ended up walking out with it! Keep reading to find out my thoughts on one of Too Faced’s three new Love Light Prismatic highlighters, and if you enjoy this post please give it a “like” so I know!

Price

The new Too Faced Love Light Prismatic Highlighters are $44 each from Mecca Maxima. While it’s not the most expensive highlighter I’ve ever forked out on, BECCA’s $64 Champagne Pop currently holds the record, it isn’t cheap at all and is definitely a bit overpriced. In comparison, my everyday highlighter that I absolutely adore is theBalm’s Mary Lou-Manizer highlighter, which you can buy from David Jones and Target for around $29 or less. With Too Faced, more often or not the high price tag is to do with the insanely gorgeous packaging and detailing – just look at that design in the pan!

IMG_1372.jpg

Packaging

This is probably the most beautiful thing I’ll ever own. From the reflective pink packaging to the design on the inside to the fact that it’s shaped like a heart, it’s just gorgeous. The highlighter is incased in a plastic shell that has a magnetic closure and a mirror. Was the packaging a big influencer in me buying this highlighter? Absolutely, but then again, that’s the case with a lot of Too Faced’s packaging. From their Sweet Peach and Chocolate Bon Bon palettes to their heart shaped blushes, they know how to reel me in time and time again! One thing I was surprised about though is how light the highlighter feels. There is barely any weight to it which gives it a less expensive feel.

IMG_1373.jpg

Product

Now to real stuff! My heart sank when I heard these highlighters were apparently overly glittery, knowing I would hate using a product like that. A highlighter shouldn’t look like glitter on your face, instead it should be so finely milled that it provides you with a glowing, luminous yet natural look. I think this Too Faced Love Light Prismatic formula falls somewhere in the middle. For comparison, it’s not as finely milled as my BECCA highlighter, which is phenomenal, out of this world and actually worth the $64 price. However, it’s thankfully not glittery at all! I think it provides the slightest ‘sparkle’ when the light catches it at a certain angle. Some people won’t like the sparkle, others will.

In terms of pigmentation, this highlighter isn’t ‘blinding’. It’s not the popular “BAM a streak of light on my face, get your sunglasses out because I’m blinding the haters!” highlighter that so many brands and beauty gurus endorse. Instead, this Too Faced highlighter is subtle when swatched, but looks absolutely gorgeous on the face. I don’t know how to describe it, but every time I swatch it on my hand it looks okay, but when it’s on my face it looks ten times better. It looks natural, like a literal glow from within. I also think it catches the light really beautifully. I thought a seemingly pink highlighter would be too out of the box to wear all the time, but it’s such a flattering shade that looks beautiful on the skin and is natural enough to wear every single day.

IMG_1374.jpg
I found the Too Faced “Ray of Light” highlighter hard to photograph, however the more you move, the more luminous it looks as it catches the light.ย 

Overall Thoughts

Do I recommend this highlighter? Yes and no. If you’re after a blinding highlighter, then no. I would recommend BECCA or Anastasia Beverly Hills for those intensely pigmented highlighters! If you’re just after a subtle, everyday highlighter and don’t care for all the bells and whistles attached to it, then you will certainly be able to find a highlighter cheaper than this Too Faced one! I recommend the theBalm’s Mary Lou-Manizer, but there are heaps on the market to look into.

If you’re a huge fan of Too Faced like myself, LOVE the cute packaging and detail they put into their products, and are happy with a subtle highlighter because you can use it everyday and really get your moneys worth out of it, I say go for it! It’s a really beautiful highlighter that gives you a stunning, ‘lit from within’ look, so I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. I always recommend reading and watching heaps of reviews from different people before buying a product, and also checking it out in store as well.

So those are my thoughts on one of Too Faced new Love Light Prismatic highlighters! What are your thoughts on their new highlighters? Leave me a comment below, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Also, don’t forget to give this review a “like” if you enjoyed it, found it interesting or helpful!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | BLOGLOVINโ€™ย | TWITTER

49 thoughts on “Too Faced Love Light Prismatic Highlighter Review

  1. These look amazing but they’re so expensive ๐Ÿ˜ญ Nevertheless, I loved this entry. I’ve been following your blog for quite some time, and I’m definitely hooked. Looking forward to your future content.

    Stop by and check out my posts!
    Mena
    femmerewritten.com ๐ŸŒธโœจ๐ŸŒท๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad you reviewed this one!!! I put it down and walked away when it first came out, determined not to bow to the hype too quickly, but now I’m sold! It will make the perfect little post-exam/end of semester treat!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it’s the best treat! I hope I made sense with my review, my swatch didn’t do it justice (and I tried so many shots and angles!) but I’m always happily surprised when I put it on my face because it does look really pretty, it’s just not blinding! So glad you enjoyed the review! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed your review!!! I am going to new York next week for my honeymoon and I was really looking forward to buying cosmetics like make up, highlighter, mascara, concealer… Do you have any shops to recommend? Or any nice cosmetic boutiques? Thank you very much!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well I’m not from New York (or America at all for that matter) hahah so I can only recommend Sephora and Ulta because I know they stock heaps of brands! Enjoy your honeymoon, I went to New York when I was little and it was absolutely amazing! Xx

      Like

  4. I love your reviews! I am definitely a blinding highlighter girl but I can definitely appreciate how gorgeous this is! I mean if I never got on with it after purchasing I would be happy to have it anyway because the packaging is to die for!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. BECCA highlighters are incredible! I own Champagne Pop and it’s hands down my favourite highlighter! They’re so much better than this Too Faced one, so you might be a bit disappointed in the Too Faced one after enjoying a BECCA one haha! Thanks for reading lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, so maybe I should stick to Becca one. Personally I’m in love with the shade Moonstone and Opal as well because I took it for holidays with me โ˜€๏ธ

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think now they do travel size version of Opal so that’s what I got ๐Ÿ˜ a bit cheaper and it comes with their liquid highlighter as well

        Like

Leave a Reply

