RuCreate The Look | Episode 8

With episode eight of RuPaul’s Drag Race providing us with The Roast of Michelle Visage, it seemed only right to dedicate this week’s RuCreate The Look to the women herself! I have so much love and respect for Michelle. She’s such a realistic mother bear to the queens, giving constructive feedback to help them improve, constantly touring with them and even helping some of them through addictions. She’s absolutely gorgeous, but this season her makeup is literally flawless. So, let’s jump into how I’d rucreate something similar to the beat she was sporting and then get into my episode rucap! If you enjoy this post please give it a “like” so I know and let’s get on with it!

RELATED: Episode One, Two, Three, Four, Five & Six, Seven

IMG_1049

Everything for the Eyes

I had so much fun putting together this little Michelle Visage edit because it features so many of my favourite products! Michelle’s look was super glamorous and classic and featured a lot of feminine, neutral tones. To achieve a similar eye look I’d grab my trusty Too Faced Natural Eyes palette and do one of my go-to looks, which consists of running Nudie through my crease, applying a mixture of Honey Pot and Push Up all over my lids, and darkening the outer v with a mixture of Sexpresso and Chocolate Martini. I’d also highlight my inner corner using Silk Teddy. I love this palette so much because you can use so many of the shades together and really feel like you’re using it for all its worth. To include more glamour I’d add some of the Australis Metallix cream shadow in the rose gold shade Pearl Jammin’. I’d put this in my inner corner or all over the lid for a beautiful, foiled eyeshadow look!

IMG_1050.jpg

I’d add a wing using the Maybelline Master Precise liquid eyeliner which has the tiniest applicator so it’s super easy to apply! I’d then pop some false lashes on before applying a few coats of the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara to blend my natural lashes in with the fake ones. Since my brows are naturally quite defined, I’d just run some of the L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper through them to give them some texture and lock them in place!

Shaping the Face

Whenever I want a defined contour I always reach for the most high quality contouring palette I own, and that’s the Kat Von D Shade + Light kit! I absolutely love this palette, and my go-to contouring routine is chiseling out my cheekbones with the light, cool toned contouring shade on the left, then bronzing the rest of my face up using the warm, middle contour shade. I also sweep the lightest highlighting shade under my eyes.

IMG_1052.jpg

To add some colour I’d grab one of my most beloved and well used makeup items, the NARS Orgasm blush! It’s such a universally flattering shade and gives you face a really beautiful wash of colour. Finally, for a beaming highlight I’d use my favourite highlighter, BECCA’s Champagne Pop! This is such a warm highlighter and looks to die for on the skin!

Lips

For the perfect, glossy nude lip Michelle wore I’d grab two products! I’d first put down a layer of the Rimmel London lipstick in the shade 54 Rock ‘N’ Roll Nude as it’s a great ‘my lips but better shade’ that’s not too pink and not too brown. These lipsticks are super creamy and pigmented, plus the packaging is gorgeous! For a glossy top coat I’d use my Hourglass Extreme Sheen lip gloss in the shade Ignite. It has some tiny reflects in it but it’s definitely not a shimmery lip gloss.

IMG_1051.jpg

So that’s how I’d rucreate Michelle’s look! Now to my episode rucap, and this part contains spoilers!

Episode RuCap

Like always I loved this episode, and while this episode had a lot of cringe worthy moments, it made for great viewing. To kick us off, Farrah Moan finally got eliminated. I have nothing against her, but I completely agree with the judges that, at the time, she had no idea who ‘Farrah’ was besides just being cute and having nice outfits. I also thought it was so interesting that she cried in every episode, except for the one she was eliminated in. I’ll say this though, I enjoyed watching her in Untucked more than I have before, and I think that was because she knew it was her time to go? She just seemed to accept it and relax instead of being so anxious and weepy. I especially liked watching her once she had been eliminated, because even though she was disappointed, you could tell she was really proud of how far she went. And she should be! I think she’s learnt so much and I’m excited to follow her and see where she goes after Drag Race!

I hate comparing seasons against each other, but this season’s roast was not my favourite. There were so many hard to watch acts, including Farrah’s, Trinity’s, and let’s not forget Alexis’. Alexis was so awkward to watch throughout this episode, from getting offended in the Reading is Fundamental mini-challenge (which wasn’t as savage as previous years) to painting herself green, to then snapping at Tamar Braxton who questioned why she was green – just a hot mess. Also, when she fell in the bottom two with Farrah, she pulled out a tiny witches hat from under her dress. Like, what. But she stayed, so there’s that.

I’m so glad Peppermint finally won a challenge! She did so well in the roast considering she hates reading people and she looked absolutely stunning. I’m excited to watch her come into her own in the competition and I’m curious to see if she’ll continue to gain momentum and make the Top 3. My picks for the Top 3 are currently Shea, Valentina and now maybe Sasha or Peppermint considering Trinity struggled in this challenge? This is one of the reasons why I love this season so much, everyone is neck and neck and it could be anyone’s game!

So those were my thoughts on this weeks episode, and also how I’d rucreate Michelle’s look! What were your thoughts on this week’s episode of RuPaul’s Drag Race? Leave me a comment below, I’d love to chat!

Also, if you enjoyed this post, please give it a “like” so I know!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “RuCreate The Look | Episode 8

  1. your pictures are BOMB! love the look of your blog!

    Do you use a camera or is everything done with your phone? I`m currently trying to figure out if its worth the splurge, but judging by your pictures if its a camera it takes, its a camera I`ll have!

    Like

Leave a Reply

