The Autumnal Lip Edit

Since I love seasonal makeup edits so much I decided to cut my usual ‘Autumn Makeup Picks’ in half for double the beauty! Since I previously posted ‘The Autumnal Eye Edit‘ featuring a bunch of my favourite eyeshadow palettes and shades, today I’m discussing my go-to lip products for Autumn! To me this seasonal is all about those rich, vampy tones, so my Autumnal lip picks feature a bunch of shades from metallic burgundies and burnt oranges to reds and deep cranberries. If you enjoy this post please give it a “like” and let’s get into it!

IMG_0985

Traditional Lipsticks

Before we dive into the dark shades, I need to mention the lightest shade in my Autumnal Lip Edit as it’s perfect for everyday wear. One of my all time favourite lip products is the NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in the shade Dolce Vita. It’s really light weight and almost has the appearance and feel of a lip stain, which is why I love it so much. It gives your lips a really natural looking, effortless wash of colour and fades throughout the day nice and evenly. This is also a really great option if your looking for something subtle but effective to balance out dramatic eye makeup!

Moving onto something completely darker, an Autumn lip staple in my collection is the Rimmel London lipstick in the shade 107! This shade rose to popularity after Zoella was seen wearing it non stop. (Also, fun fact, Madame Tussauds decided to use this shade when painting her lipstick for their wax figure of her.) While it looks super dark in the bullet, when applied this is a really pretty cranberry shade.

A recent addition to my lipstick collection is a MAC lipstick – finally! I’ve been wanting to try their lipsticks for ages, so I was over the moon when Morgan gifted me the shade Del Rio for my birthday! It’s a stunning muted plum brown in a satin finish that I’m so excited to wear throughout the cooler months!

IMG_0987.jpg

Liquid Lipsticks

One liquid lipstick I haven’t worn as much as I’d like is the Kylie Cosmetics Metal Liquid Lipstick in the shade Reign! It’s a gorgeous, metallic copper that would look great on it’s own, but I’m really curious to see how amazing it would look as a lip topper over a normal lipstick like Del Rio! As you can see from the swatches below, it’s super pigmented!

To round off this lip edit I have not one, but two gorgeous orange shades that I’ve loved wearing recently! The Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in the shade Lolita II is stunning and perfect for this time of the year. With a super pigmented, light weight formula that has great staying power, Lolita II is one of my go-to lipsticks.

Another liquid lipstick I own that has way more of an orange undertone is the Kylie Cosmetics Liquid Lipstick in the shade Pumpkin! This was part of her Autumn range and it’s stunning! Her lipsticks do try down darker than they look in the tube, but good grief do they stay on for hours! I also have the matching lip liner in this shade, which is perfect for daytime when you want that pop of orange but don’t want to slather on an actual liquid lipstick. Kylie’s lip liners are sensational, so if you’re looking for a liquid lipstick alternative, consider buying her single lip liners!

Swatches

IMG_0988.jpg
Top to Bottom: Reign, Lolita II, Del Rio, Pumpkin, Dolce Vita, 107

So there you have it! Those are some of the lip products I’ve been reaching for recently for Autumn and will be wearing throughout the colder months! If you enjoyed this post please give it a “like” so I know!

What shades do you like wearing during Autumn? Leave me a comment below! I’d love to hear your thoughts and get recommendations!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “The Autumnal Lip Edit

    1. I’m obsessed with oranges at the moment so Kylie’s Pumpkin is just 10/10! Aaa that’s so weird, I’m so happy to wave Summer goodbye because in Australia it’s just so hot all the time hahaha! Aw thank you so much for reading lovely, so glad you enjoyed it! xx

      Like

  1. Gorgeous shades! I absolutely love the deep berries and burgundies when the cold weather rolls around – Rimmel 107 is one of my faves! The rusty reds are perfect for Autumn though. I have and love Dolce Vita and Lolita II as well!

    Tasha // shiwashiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

