RuCreate The Look | Episode 7

For this week’s RuCreate The Look post I was inspired by not a runway look, but a makeup look from the main challenge! The queens were tasked with acting out an episode from 9021H0, and I became obsessed with Valentina’s Monna Dartin look. From the nude lip to the light blue eyeshadow to the overall styling, her look screamed 90’s perfection and I just had to feature it! Keep reading to see what products I’d use to rucreate something similar, and to also read my thoughts about this weeks episode! If you enjoy this post please give it a “like” so I know and let’s get into it!

RELATED: Episode One, Two, Three, Four, Five and Six

Can we all just take a moment to let the sheer gorgeousness of this look wash over us? Thank you. Let’s continue.

Eyeshadow

The true hero of this look is that stunning light blue shadow Valentina wore. Since I’m a warm toned gal, the only thing similar I owned are some of the shades in the original Urban Decay Naked palette. One thing I love about this series I’ve started on my blog is that it’s really inspired me to change up my makeup and to look everywhere for inspiration, and to also see the gaps in my makeup collection! For this eye look I’d take the transitional shades Naked and Buck and run them through my crease. I’d then take Gunmetal and blend it all over my lid before darkening the outer corner ever so slightly with the shade Creep. I’d then brighten my inner corner by mixing Virgin and Sin together.

IMG_0966.jpg

Face

Since she was embodying a character from the 90’s, Valentina didn’t have harsh contouring but instead a really beautiful, peachy blush on. To create something similar I’d take my Too Faced Love Flush blush in the shade I Will Always Love You as it’s a peachy, light matte blush that would be perfect for this look. I absolutely love these blushes as they’re matte, incredibly pigmented and are so natural looking and easy to blend out!

IMG_0967.jpg

To recreate that classic 90’s matte nude lip I’d take the Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick in the shade Mannequin. This shade is literally my perfect nude shade, plus this formula is incredible. It’s matte but not drying. Pigmented as hell but light weight on the lips. While I won’t be buying anymore JSC products, I’m glad I discovered my holy grail shade before blacklisting his brand forever. My only problem will be what to do when I finish this tube!

Brows and Lashes

Again, 90’s makeup is more simplistic compared to today, so to recreate Valentina’s brows and lashes I’d reach for two products. To sculpt my brows but to also ensure they look fluffy and natural I always use my L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper Brow Gel in the shade Medium Brown. I have raved about this brow gel too many times, but it’s just that good. The wand is tiny which means it’s really easy to run it through your brows to lock them in place. Plus, when your brows are set, this gel doesn’t make the hairs feel super hard or crusty!

IMG_0968.jpg

For lashes I cannot go past using the Maybelline Lash Sensational Luscious Mascara! This mascara is incredible as it adds a ridiculous amount of volume and length to your lashes and really fans them out. Add as many coats as you want, but for a natural 90’s look I’d probably keep it at two.

So that’s how I’d rucreate something similar to Valentina’s 90’s Monna Dartin look! Now to my episode rucap, and below is riddled with spoilers!

Episode RuCap

I have two major things to discuss, the winner and the elimination. Firstly, I’m so incredibly happy Trinity won. I have no idea why but I’m so obsessed with her and really want her to make Top 3, which I think is very possible. I know a lot of people expected Valentina to win, and yes, her acting was great and she had a huge role and did a fantastic job with it. BUT, I think Trinity’s role allowed her to be way more funnier and way more of a scene stealer. I thought Shea was perfect in her role too, so I’m so glad we had so many queens who could act properly. I think this was one of the best acting challenges out of all of the seasons.

Now to the elimination. I thought Nina and Aja deserved to be in the bottom two, but I thought their lip sync was neck and neck and I was so ready for Ru to keep them both! And then she didn’t! And then Aja left! What! I do think Aja has shown everything she has on the show so far, but I think Nina’s been given a lot of chanced to change her attitude and she still really hasn’t? Aja, on the other hand, has listened to the judges feedback and changed her makeup. I think they both could have stayed, but either one of them could have left because at the time they were very similar queens in terms of what they’re bringing to the table. I wouldn’t be surprised if Nina left next though if she doesn’t show a bit more versatility. Going off her promo picture though, I genuinely thought Aja would make Top 3! I want to see more of her but looking at her social media after RPDR, she looks like she’s doing really well!

My predictions for Top 3, which is also my dream Top 3, is Shea, Trinity and Valentina, with Shea winning the whole show. I think Sasha is doing well but the judges just aren’t really seeing it, or the other girls are just outshining her. I think Farrah has overstayed her visit as she just isn’t really bringing much to the show compared to everyone else as has been either in the bottom or just safe this entire time. I really loved this episode and since the queens are dwindling down, each episode is getting really juicy! I also loved this weeks lip sync song, come on The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert!

So! Those are my thoughts on this weeks episode of RuPaul’s Drag Race and how I’d rucreate Valentina’s look! If you enjoyed this post please give it a “like” so I know!

Also, what were your thoughts on this week’s episode? Leave me a comment below! I’d love to chat!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

13 thoughts on “RuCreate The Look | Episode 7

  1. I agree that this has been the best acting challenge I think I’ve seen, it was really good. This season has been fantastic so far! I think Trinity did so well and I really think that she’s going to the top three, I’m rooting for her, Peppermint and Shea as top three, but I imagine Valentina is going to make it to the top three. It’s so hard to pick!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes totally agree! But I think Valentina will probably knock Peppermint out of the top three as she’s had a stronger performance throughout the show! Aaaa so exciting though! Thanks for reading lovely! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

