Met Gala 2017 | Top 10 Best Dressed

It’s the first Monday in May which means it’s time for the 2017 Met Gala, the annual fundraising benefit for the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City! The event signifies the grand opening of the Costume Institute’s annual fashion exhibition, which this year is honouring Comme des Garçon designer Rei Kawakubo with an exhibition entitled “Rei Kawakubo/Comme des Garçons: Art of the In-Between.” Contrary to previous Met Gala’s, this years selection of looks seems a little paired down. With a dress code of avant-garde black tie I was expecting to see some more unusual looks, but nevertheless, there were some sure stunners I just had to write about! Here are my top 10 best dressed from the 2017 Met Gala that graced the 150-foot-long red carpet! Keep reading to find out who made the cut and if you enjoy this post please give it a “like” so I know!

RELATED: My Top 10 Best Dressed from the 2016 Met Gala

In no particular order I loved:

Rihanna in Comme des Garçons

rs_765x1100-170501174535-765.Rihanna-Met-Gala-Post.jl.050117.jpg

I think this is probably my favourite look from the whole event. It encapsulates everything that the Met Gala asks for; high fashion, intricacy, details, fresh ideas, I could go on. Rihanna was also one of the only people to wear the brand associated with the theme, which I thought was interesting. Also the makeup and hair is stunning.

Cara Delevingne in Chanel

lede-cara-delevingne-met-gala-2017.jpg

This Chanel suit is exquisite. It’s pretty obvious from my Fashion Pinterest board that I love anything heavily, heavily embellished and this ticks that box. I like the androgynous angle with the suit and bald head for an “in between” theme and appreciate that Cara and her team didn’t just pick a black suit.

Lara Stone in Christopher Kane

met-gala-2017-662-lara-stone-superJumbo-v2.jpg

I love this look because it was one of the first ones I saw that I actually liked. I love this aesthetic and, while I have no idea if it fits the theme, it’s gorgeous and something I’d wear myself. I also love those lace shoes as well, and the simple hair and makeup really make the outfit shine. But, the Met Gala is a place where you can push the envelope and have a bit more fun, so it would have been interesting to see what look they would have done if they have been a bit more adventurous with the styling.

Hailey Baldwin in Caroline Herrera

met-gala-2017-712-hailey-baldwin-superJumbo-v2.jpg

Okay I really, really love this. I love how big and feminine it is but also minimalistic at the same time. It almost looks like the undergarments you’d wear so that something over the top looks bigger, and I love that about it. The headpiece gives it that most high fashion, glamorous edge and the simple hair looks perfect. This whole look to me is just so modern and young and fresh.

Blake Lively in Versace

met-gala-2017-484-blake-lively-and-ryan-reynolds-superJumbo-v2.jpg

This is everything. The gold compliments her skin tone so well, the blue is incredible, it ties her earrings and Ryan’s bowtie together without looking too matchy matchy. Blake is just this flawless Amazon and this look is, of course, just beautiful.

Lily Aldridge in Ralph Lauren

lily-aldridge-met-gala-2017-1.jpg

This is so weird and cool and I love it. I like that it’s out of the box but still simple. The boots are such a vibrant pop of colour and the purple face scarf balances out the bold leg statement. I also just love this photo of people fanning her dress out while she is completely serving it to the cameras. There’s also Kendall Jenner in the background who I was excited to see, but her look just fell a little flat to me.

Chrissy Teigen in custom Marchesa

Chrissy-Teigen-John-Legend-2017-Met-Gala.jpg

I love ANYTHING that’s super embellished on a sheer dress. Give me all of them, I will never get sick of seeing it. I love this look. This is what I expect from the Met Gala. She looks incredible as always and I love the slick back hair and simple yet glowy makeup too.

Kylie Jenner in Versace

met-gala-2017-303-kylie-jenner-superJumbo-v2.jpg

I could almost post my caption from the previous photo here and it would still work. I absolutely love this look from Kylie and I think she looks incredible. Her hair and makeup is stunning and I think she looks super appropriate for the event. Her phenomenal Balmain dress from last year’s Met Gala is still one of my favourite looks from anyone ever, but this look is still really true to that style and aesthetic.

Gigi Hadid in Tommy Hilfiger

Screen Shot 2017-05-02 at 2.47.11 pm.png

I freaking love this, I think it’s so cool and different and unique to what everyone else wore. I love the colours, the tights, the shape, the style of the hair and makeup. At first I was like ‘what’, but the more I look at it, the more I love it.

Zendaya in Dolce & Gabbana

Screen Shot 2017-05-02 at 2.46.52 pm.png

We are ending on such a high with Zendaya in Dolce & Gabbana! This look is incredible! She’s so stunningly gorgeous and she also does her own makeup for her events, how is she even real. I absolutely love the hair with this dress and how the lip is a pop of colour. I think the off the shoulder neck line is also super flattering and on trend too. This is just sensational and I just bow down to Zendaya. Amazing work.

So there you have it! Those were my top 10 best dressed from the 2017 Met Gala! If you enjoyed this post please give it a “like” so I know!

What are your thoughts on this years red carpet? Leave me a comment below, I’d love to chat!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

Instagram | Twitter | Pinterest | Bloglovin

18 thoughts on “Met Gala 2017 | Top 10 Best Dressed

  1. When doesn’t Blake Lively just ace it?! She’s incredible! I loved Hailey Baldwin’s look too, although I feel like I have seen someone do something really similar before but I can’t figure out who?! xxx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Just discovered your blog! I love it, would really appreciate if you check mine out? I’ve started blogging and kinda new to the blogging world xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

