♡ Valentine’s Day Netflix Guide ♡

Romantic candle lit dinners, walks on the beach, getting roses delivered to your door, will I be experiencing any of that this Valentine’s Day? Heck no! I’ll be watching Netflix – without the chill. If those are also your plans for this Tuesday then don’t fear, as I’ve rounded up some of my favourite TV shows and movies on Australian Netflix that you need to get into. This list covers the obvious, such as those classic romantic comedies, but I’ve also thrown in the Netflix Originals that I live for, some classic Australian comedies I’ve been re-watching lately, plus some new shows I’ve recently gotten into! If you enjoy this post, please give it a “like” so I know and let’s jump into it!

IMG_8782.jpg

♡ Rom Coms 

Since Australian Netflix is somewhat limited I can’t include a few of my all time favourite romantic comedies, such as Bridget Jones’s Diary, Bridesmaids, 27 Dresses, Love Actually, etc you get the idea. So, that was me recommending those modern masterpieces! Now let’s crack on!

♡ 10 Things I Hate About You – Two words; Heath Ledger. This 90s teen romance hits the spot and has amazing one liners. Plus there are so many classic scenes in this movie; like the singing on the stairs and when she read out the poem.

♡ The Proposal – Come through Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds! This movie is fantastic. She’s the boss, he’s the assistant. They then follow the “we need to pretend to be in love in front of my family and national security officials so you don’t get deported” trope. Do they fall in love? Does she get deported? !!!!! Watch it if you haven’t already. Bullock even got a Golden Globe nomination for this, nice.

♡ Valentine’s Day – This movie tried to do the same thing as Love Actually with all the famous actors having their lives woven into one. You can’t beat Love Actually, but this is a Valentine’s Day Netflix Guide so it just seemed wrong not to include this one! It as everyone under the sun in it, so check it out if you’re interested!

IMG_8783.jpg

♡ Phenomenal Netflix Originals ♡

Here we go! If you’d rather sink your teeth into some amazing, award winning television as opposed to fluffy romantic comedies, look no further. This section is my favourite part of my guide!

♡ Orange Is The New Black – Hands down just an incredible show. I absolutely love everything about it; the interconnecting storyline, how fleshed out and real the characters are, the hilarious and heartbreaking script. Honestly I can’t recommend this enough. OITNB follows the lives of woman’s prison and everything that goes down.

♡ Stranger Things – This show is phenomenal and, along with OITNB, has become one of my favourite shows of all time. Seriously, how does Netflix just keep pumping out these incredible shows? Everything about Stranger Things is wonderful; the sheer talent of every single cast member, how it feels like you’re watching a movie or a book play out in front of you, not a TV show, how damn captivating it all is. I even got my parents hooked on this. There is currently only one season of eight episodes, so now is a great time to become involved before season two drops on Halloween! I tried to explain the plot but everything I wrote just did not do Stranger Things justice, so take my advice and watch it!

IMG_8784.jpg

♡ Hilarious Australian Comedies ♡

There are some absolute bangers that have come out of my country and made me proud to be Australian, so here they are!

♡ Summer Heights High – I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve watched this mockumentary style show set at a public high school. There are only eight 30 minute episodes which are jam packed with classic one liners everyone quoted throughout my time in high school and beyond. The characters Chris Lilley created and portrayed are extreme yet scarily accurate, plus there are a few spin off series such a Ja’mie: Private School Girl you can watch as well if you still want more!

♡ Please Like Me – This show is so underrated for what it is. Please Like Me is the creation of Australian comedian Josh Thomas and follows the story of his early twenties. Netflix describes the show perfectly, “after his girlfriend dumps him, 20 something Josh realises he’s gay, beds an attractive acquaintance and moves in with his suicidal mum.” It’s wonderful, raw, real, hilarious, and relevant. Plus, much like Summer Heights High, there are between six to ten episodes in each of the three seasons, with each episode just under 30 minutes.

♡ Recent Discoveries ♡

♡ Riverdale – I only just discovered this show as it was recommended to me by a friend, but after watching one episode, I’m hooked! It’s based off of the classic Archie comics and while it’s a little corny, it gives you all those CW vibes, such as One Tree Hill, Gossip Girl, The Vampire Diaries and Pretty Little Liars. However this show is a touch more animated and colourful as it’s got that comic book inspiration, so it makes it so entertaining! The town of Riverdale is swept up in a mystery, each character facing several teenage moral dilemmas. The outfits are cute and the cast is even cuter. It’s a Netflix Original, however they’re only releasing one episode a week, how rude. There are currently six to get you hooked though!

So that’s my Valentine’s Day Netflix Guide! I hope you enjoyed this post and got some inspiration on what to watch next. Whatever your plans are for Valentine’s Day, I hope you have a wonderful Tuesday!

If you enjoyed this post please give it a “like” so I know, and I really hope you enjoyed my two previous V-Day inspired posts – my Valentine’s Day Makeup Picks and my Valentine’s Day Brownies!

What’s your favourite show or movie on Netflix? Leave me a comment below, I’d love to hear your thoughts of get recommendations for new things!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

INSTAGRAM  PINTEREST ♡ BLOGLOVIN’

9 thoughts on “♡ Valentine’s Day Netflix Guide ♡

Leave a Reply

