Valentine’s Day Brownies

With Valentine’s Day around the corner I saw it as a perfect oppourtunity to bake something again! This recipe is very similar to my previous baking post, Christmas Tree Brownies, but they were a hit so I thought my Valentine’s Day Brownies would spark some inspiration this V Day too! These brownies are incredibly easy to create and make perfect gifts for your special someone or friends for Galentine’s Day. You can even just whip up a batch for yourself and your fam, because why the heck not? The decorating part is also completely up to you as well! I hope you enjoy this post and if you do, please give it a “like” so I know and let’s get into it!

IMG_8738.jpg

You can use any brownie recipe of your choice, but I’m using the Betty Crocker Triple Choclate Fudge Brownie Mix as it’s super easy and, of course, delicious. 

♡ You Will Need ♡

Brownies: 

  • Betty Crocker Triple Chocolate Fudge Brownie Mix 
  • 2 extra large eggs
  • 125g of melted butter 

If you prefer to bake with oil, replace butter for 1/2 cup of vegetable oil and 1 tablespoon of water. 

IMG_8734.jpg

Icing and Decorating:

  • Betty Crocker Creamy Deluxe Vanilla Icing
  • Red food colouring
  • Heart shaped sprinkles (I found mine at Coles)
  • Some small snap lock bags  (or an actual piping bag)
  • “I Heart You” cookie cutter set (I found this specific set at Coles, but was originally just looking for one love heart)

♡ Here’s How You Do It ♡

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C (160°C fan forced). 
  2. Grease a 20cm square cake pan before lining the base with baking paper. 
  3. Stir the brownie mix, eggs and butter together in a medium sized bowl with a wooden spoon until combined. Then, pour it into your prepared pan and spread it out evenly. 
  4. Bake them in the oven for 30 – 35 minutes or until sticky crumbs cling to a skewer inserted into the centre of the brownie. Cook time may vary depending on your oven, however if you’re after extra fudge brownies, test them after 28 minutes. Keep them in the pan to cool for 10 minutes, then gently remove them from the pan to a wire rack to cool completely. 

IMG_8735.jpgIMG_8736.jpg

♡ Decorating ♡

  1. Once your brownie is completely cool, grab your cookie cutter set and start making shapes! Try and squeeze as many shapes out of the brownie as you can. I tried my best but still had a lot of random left over pieces! 
  2. Spoon some Betty Crocker icing into a bowl and add in a drop of red food colouring and mix throughly. The more drops of food dye you add, the darker your icing will be. I planned to make a batch of pink icing and a batch of red icing, so I only did about two drops to create the pink icing. 
  3. Once you’re happy with the shade of your icing, spoon it into the corner of a snap lock bag, seal it shut and snip the corner of the bag to create a piping bag. The bigger the snip, the bigger the piping lines and vice versa! I knew I was going to be doing delicate work when outlining the I and U shapes, so I cut a tiny hole for that. For the hearts however, I cut a bigger hole. 
  4. Once you’re happy with your piping, add some heart shaped sprinkles and you’re done!

IMG_8737.jpgIMG_8741.jpgIMG_8739.jpgIMG_8740.jpgIMG_8738.jpg

So that’s how I created these Valentine’s Day brownies! I really hope you enjoyed this post and if you did, please give it a “like” so I know! If you recreate these please tell me know as I’d love to see your creations! I’m @jessica_riga on Instagram if you want to tag me!

Will you be making any Valentine’s Day themed things this year? Leave me a comment below, I’d love to chat!

All the love, 

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

INSTAGRAM  PINTEREST ♡ BLOGLOVIN’

96 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Brownies

Leave a Reply

