Burgundy Palette Battle

Burgundy toned eyeshadow palettes dominated the 2016 beauty landscape and they don’t seem to be going anywhere anytime soon. Since I have quite a handful of them, I thought I’d do a comparison post about them all! Today I’m comparing the Chi Chi Spices palette, the Violet Voss Holy Grail palette and the Kylie Cosmetics Burgundy Kyshadow palette. Since I’ve done lengthy reviews on each of these palettes, which you can read by clicking the names, I won’t be breaking down each shade but instead looking at the price of each of these palettes, how accessible they are, what their formula is like, how similar they actually are and deciding which one I love best! I hope you find this comparison post helpful and if you do, please give it a “like” so I know!

img_8645

Price + Accessibility

Chi Chi Spices: $22.95 from the Chi Chi website, Myer and Target stores.

Violet Voss Holy Grail: $45 USD from the Violet Voss website, however it’s currently out of stock and 99% is never available. This palette is notorious for selling out in under an hour, however I bought mine from Beauty Bay and it was $53.

Kylie Cosmetics Burgundy: $42 USD (currently $54 AUD) and you can only buy it from the Kylie Cosmetics website. They hype of this palette has died down so it’s almost always in stock. I have never had a problem with her site or shipping and I think they have good customer service as your tracking is constantly updated and they reply to emails in under 24 hours. Kylie’s also been having a lot of promotions, free shipping and bundle deals lately, so there are lots of opportunities to get more bang for your buck.

Overall, even though the Violet Voss palette is the hardest to get, I think it’s the most worth it.

Packaging

The Chi Chi palettes have the cheapest packaging as they’re made entirely of plastic and the writing on mine began to scratch off the week I started using it. They’re also very light, another indication of their price. However, the packaging is extremely sturdy, sleek, travel friendly, plus the transparent top makes it easy to spot it clearly among all your other palettes.

img_8648

The packaging on the Violet Voss palette is probably my least favourite of the three for the sheer reason it gets dirty easily, however that problems been solved! Violet Voss recently changed the packaging from this soft, semi velvet packaging to hard, holographic, smooth cardboard and it looks absolutely gorgeous! If I ever hit pan on these shades or complete destroy this palette through using it so much, I’d actually be happy to hunt it down again because the new packaging looks like such a step up. I love the font and boarder on the packaging and how chic and minimal it looks.

img_8646

The Kylie Cosmetics packaging is my favourite as it’s hard cardboard, sturdy, compact, minimal, trendy, travel friendly and has a nice weight to it, making it feel expensive.

img_8650

Formula

I used to absolutely love the Chi Chi formula and I think it’s great for beginners. It’s pigmented and blends easily, but it has a weirdly felt like consistency. However, you do get what you pay for and this formula is beaten by the other two palettes. It’s the cheapest out of all three and I won’t be buying anymore palettes from Chi Chi, but I’m really happy I own this specific palette. Some of the shades are hit or miss, but the misses can be built up!

img_8649

The Violet Voss formula is stunning. I will admit the burgundy shades are slightly less pigmented then the rest, however they can be built up and allow you to produce the most blended, smoked out look. Red shades are known to be quite a headache to formulate, but they’ve done a great job considering. The shimmer shades in this palette are absolutely gorgeous as they’re so intensely pigmented, creamy, easy to blend, have amazing staying power – the list just goes on! The mattes are also really beautiful. The Violet Voss formula blows these other two palettes out of the water and is my favourite.

img_8647

The Kylie Cosmetics formula is very hit or miss but still workable. I went into so much detail in my dedicated review of this palette, but the gold shade LA is such a pigmented shimmer while the other two shimmers feel like a completely different formula. Again, they’re still workable, but with the Violet Voss palette, you can just feel the quality of every single shade when swatched, unlike this palette. The mattes in this palette are amazing though and really beautiful to use. This palette has the least amount of shades so there isn’t a lot of room for Kylie to fail as it would really show, but overall I’m happy I own this palette!

img_8651

Double Up Shades

Do you need all three? Definitely not as there are a lot of double ups. I couldn’t compare every single shadow, but I looked at all the quintessential shades you’d find in a burgundy palette and to see just how similar they all are.

burgundy-palette-comparison-swatches-part-1

When swatching I really noticed how less pigmented the Chi Chi shades are, however they were easy to build up and layer. Violet Voss is definitely a better formula than Kylie’s as it’s more pigmented and had less inconsistencies. This is really obvious in the Burgundy section as Dubai is meant to be Kylie’s shimmer shade, but Violet Voss’s Cranberry Splash is such a better quality.

Burgundy Palette Comparison Swatches Part 2.jpg

This second selection of swatches is no as “dupable” as the first section was, but they are very similar. Not every palette had the same amount of shades to compare, for example the Chi Chi palette doesn’t have a matte burgundy shade. Overall though, they’re all pretty similar!

Final Thoughts

If I had to pick one palette to keep out of all three, I would pick the Violet Voss Holy Grail eyeshadow palette! It has a better formula than the other two palettes and also has less inconsistencies. The only down side is it’s so hard to get your hands on, but when I did I was blown away with it.

I hope you find this comparison post helpful or interesting and if you did, please give it a “like” so I know!

Do you own a burgundy palette? Which one is your favourite? Leave me a comment below so we can chat!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | BLOGLOVIN’

7 thoughts on “Burgundy Palette Battle

Leave a Reply

