Liquid Lipstick Comparison

From finding the absolute exact foundation match in a formula you love to discovering a mascara that ticks every box, there are some makeup products beauty junkies will go to the end of the earth to perfect. One of those is finding the ultimate liquid lipstick. At first I was hesitant to try them, but once I did I fell hard and fast and quickly became a woman possessed, determined to try every formula within grasp in search of the holy grail. This blog post has been in the works since around last September, but only recently I’ve been able to confirm I have a favourite and I’m very happy to stop looking (at least, for a long time). Have a found my favourite formula? Yes! Am I happy about who it’s from? Nope! Keep reading to find out how I think these liquid lipsticks stack up against each other and if you find this post helpful or enjoyable, please give it a “like” so I know! Let’s crack on!

IMG_8183.jpg

I have ordered this list vaguely in terms of pricing but I don’t have a strict “this is my seventh favourite formula ever” sort of list. I will be comparing the price, packaging, applicator (only when relevant), formula and company/owner. Since I have so many to get through I’m going to keep it concise where possible but also try and give you as much information as I can! Also, a giant comparison swatch is at the very end of this post.

ColourPop Ultra Mattes & ColourPop Ultra Satins

IMG_8184.jpg

Ultra Matte “Bumble” and Ultra Satin “Alyssa”

Price: $6 USD | $7.92 AUD (will vary)

Packaging: I absolutely adore the ColourPop packaging. It’s classy, sturdy, doesn’t reflect the affordable price point at all, plus the holographic writing on the tube is so clever for a brand that has the word “colour” in it. The only “flaw” I’ve noticed from these is when you pull the wand out it doesn’t squeeze the applicator a lot so I have to wipe excess product off the wand back into the tube. That’s a small thing but I thought I’d mention it as this detail comes up again with other brands.

Applicator: The applicator is small so it’s easy to draw on the lips, however it’s not super bendy like other brands I’ve tried. Again, small detail but this comes up a lot in the rest of the post!

Formula: Both the Matte and Satin ColourPop formulas are very runny and wet. They’re very pigmented, however I find them to oxidise and dry down a lot darker than they look in the tube. I can’t stand the Ultra Matte formula which is why I haven’t worn it much. It’s so drying! It also crumbles off my lips so you end up with patches of it completely broken off. The satin formula is much nicer to wear, however it doesn’t dry down fully. I’m okay with that, but if you’re eating something, you need to be careful or else it will get everywhere. Again, this is a reason I don’t wear them much, I just hate being so paranoid about my makeup.

Company: I have not heard anything bad about ColourPop’s owner or the company as a whole. I really like who they collaborate and associate with, their main influencer being Kathleen Lights who I really admire as a beauty guru. Recently they have become very accessible for international customers as you can currently get them with free international shipping when you spend over $50 USD, which isn’t hard! 

Do I recommend these? No, only because there are better formulas out there that I personally prefer, but these are a fantastic starting point and no one can beat this price.

NYX Lip Lingerie Liquid Lipstick

IMG_8185.jpg

Shade “Bedtime Flirt”

Price: $14.95 AUD

Packaging: It’s simple and classy, nothing bad to say about this!

Applicator: The applicator on this one liquid lipstick is the reason I added this whole applicator section to this post. This has the longest applicator ever, it’s so bizarre and I want to know why it was chosen. It’s very long and very flat and it gets the job done but it does feel awkward and clunky at times.

Formula: The most “mousse” like formula out of this entire post. This is not runny at all, it’s very creamy, but since it’s so creamy it’s almost difficult to make it not look patchy as it moves a lot with that giant applicator. It looks the most patchiest in the comparison swatch photo which is at the end of this post!

Company: I’ve heard nothing bad about NYX, they sponsored a few seasons of RuPaul’s Drag Race, so that’s a big tick for me.

Would I recommend this? Yes, if you’re after a less drying and more moisturising liquid lipstick. However, it’s not the most amazing option in the world. This does transfer slightly, but the formula is way friendlier than the very sticky ColourPop Satin formula.

Lime Crime Velvetines Liquid Lipstick

IMG_8186.jpg“Bleached” 

Price: $20 USD | $29 AUD

Packaging: I really love the Lime Crime packaging. I think the roses are original and the frosted tube is sleek and pretty.

Formula: My second favourite formula out of all of these products, and for a long time it was my favourite. It’s runny, pigmented and dries in under a minute. It also doesn’t oxidise at all, therefore it’s very true to colour. It feels so light weight on your lips, doesn’t dry mine out, doesn’t emphasise my lip lines and has incredible staying power. They are very faintly vanilla scented, and I’m sensitive to smells but I love this scent. I absolutely love these.

Company/Owner: This is where the love fest ends. Lime Crime has been mentally blacklisted by a large portion of the beauty community. This is for a variety of reasons. I always encourage people to do their own research, but this article is huge and covers a lot of the controversies. Basically, Lime Crime has had issues with hackers, stolen customer information, racism, the FDA and more.

Would I recommend this? Formula wise, absolutely. Company/owner wise? I’d make the person be aware of their past and let them make their own decision based on their own research.

Gerard Cosmetics Hydra Matte Liquid Lipstick

IMG_8187.jpg

Shade “Serenity”

Price: $18.80 AUD (from BeautyBay.com)

Packaging: I love this packaging, it’s so sleek and gorgeous!

Formula: I like this formula, but I never wear it because it dries such a different colour than advertised! I was expecting a light pink shade because that’s what I was promised yet this dries down so dark on me. I have so many other shades like this, and the reasons below are why I always reach for another brand.

Company/Owner: As nice as the formula is, I will be my first and last Gerard Cosmetics purchase. To start with, this certain shade is the Manny Mua collaboration product, and he’s becoming more and more of a controversial figure. I admire how far Manny’s come. I’ve watched him for years, in disbelief at first of how good he was at makeup and how gorgeous he looked both in and out of a full face beat. The barriers he’s helped kick down for men and makeup are huge, but some of his actions and who he associates with is questionable. Secondly, the company’s owner and Manny Mua were involved in a scandal where Manny Snapchatted the two watching a very small YouTuber review a Gerard Cosmetics product on YouTube. The review was negative and Manny filmed the two of them mocking the YouTuber. I’m still baffled on why he would film that let alone post it to his millions of subscribers and followers. When he was called out on his actions he justified it all as “fair” as the reviewer was “bullying my friend’s brand”. A brand can’t be bullied, but sure. It made both Manny and Gerard Cosmetics look terrible, and that was the incident that made Jaclyn Hill stop supporting the brand altogether. I never really hear their products being mentioned, and they don’t have a ride or die makeup item that everyone is snapping up all the time, so they just aren’t on my radar. Again, there is a lot of other drama surrounding Manny regarding who he associates with, how he refers to other LGBT+ members, how he treats being on certain brands PR lists and more, so if you’re interested I recommend doing a quick Google search.  

Would I recommend this? No, it’s a good product but it’s nothing revolutionary and there are better brands out there doing the same thing.

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick

IMG_8188.jpg

Shade “Perla”

Price: $30 AUD

Packaging: I really love this matte gold packaging with some shiny gold accents. This is a mini version but the tubes used to be black, so this packaging revamp is gorgeous!

Formula: I couldn’t even properly review this formula because the scent that these liquid lipsticks have is so intense. It’s like very sugary sweet marshmallows and it gives me a headache almost instantly. Formula wise, they’re okay, but my expectations were let down. They just feel so heavy on my lips. I did try these out on a very hot day, so I will give them another go soon, but as soon as this dried I wanted to take it off (and I eventually did). It’s a gorgeous baby pink in the tube but oxidised almost purple on me.

Company/Owner: I haven’t heard anything bad about Stila!

Would I recommend these? Probably not, some people love them but I unfortunately hated my brief experience with this shade! I have two other minis that I might end up loving, so fingers crossed.

Kylie Cosmetics Lip Kit Liquid Lipstick

img_8191

Shade “Exposed”

Price: $17 USD | $22.47 (this is the price for just the lipstick, not the liner included)

Packaging: I love the Kylie Cosmetics packaging. I know I’ve said this about so many in this post, but this is again super sleek and the dripping design is fun and original (from my knowledge). Her tubes are the exact same size as the ColourPop ones which is why a lot of people think it’s repackaged ColourPop lipsticks, but they definitely aren’t.

Formula: I like Kylie’s formula, not fantastic but it’s better than a lot of the ones I’ve mentioned. It can be prone to be drying, but a layer of lip balm helps everything. These stay on your lips through rain, hail and shine. Like, they are hard to take off, which a lot of people hate, but I’ve never had an issue with them staining my lips, they just grip on really tight! Her formula is very runny and wet and not mousse like at all. I do find her formula to feel thicker on the lips compared to Lime Crime, which feel like nothing.

Company/Owner: I like Kylie, I know she’s flawed but compared to the two brands I’m going to mention next, she looks like a saint. I know her company had problems at the start, but every company does and very few companies are under the scrutiny or had the customer demand that she had when she started.

Would I recommend these? Yes, but I recommend getting one and seeing how you go before getting more!

Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick

IMG_8189.jpg

Shade “Lolita II”

Price: $30 AUD

Packaging: This packaging is to die for. It’s all illustrated by Kat herself and it’s so gorgeous and original and literally like a piece of art. Her tubes are so long though so they don’t fit nicely amongst all my others in my storage units, which is annoying but hey.

Applicator: Okay this is wild. Since her tube is so long, the wand on these lipsticks is so long as well! I find them a touch awkward to put on because my hand feels so far away from my face, but her applicator is very small and petite so it’s easy to draw on.

Formula: Again, I find her formula to be runny but it’s also one of the thinnest formulas I own. I feels very light weight on my lips which is nice but I also know this formula comes off easily as well. Also, since it’s so thin I find it to apply a little patchy? I love this colour, but the fear of having half my lip darker than the rest (which has happened before) puts me off using this sometimes. I know I should probably brush up on my application skills to make this work, but to me this formula isn’t an “easy breeze fool proof, whack it on before I leave the house” formula.

Company/Owner: Here we go! Again, it’s strongly encouraged you do your own research but in a nutshell Kat’s action have labelled her as extremely racist and hypocritical. This video from I’m Just Here For The Tea runs through her history. More recently however she very publicly cut ties with Jeffree Star in this video she posted. I don’t think I’ll buy from her as I just don’t like the thought of giving her any more of my money after realising everything she’s done.

Would I recommend this to a friend? Probably not, the formula is nice but the owner is a let down (putting it lightly) so I’d recommend them another, less problematic brand.

Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick

IMG_8190.jpg

Shade “Mannequin” 

Price: $18 USD | $23.80 AUD

Packaging: Jeffree’s liquid lipsticks are shorter than most but the tube is thicker so you get the same or more amount of product in these. His caps don’t screwed down, instead they have a lock function and I always fear it will come undone and leak everywhere. Overall though, the packaging colours are very him and on brand.

Applicator: This is the best applicator I’ve ever used. It’s very fluffy and at first I thought it would make the product go everywhere, but I honestly get the cleanest lines when I use this. You do not need a lip liner with these. The applicator is also curved for your lips and is quite bendy, so it contours to your lips super easily. Also, his packaging really squeezes the wand when it gets pulled out, so the smallest drop is on the tip of the applicator and helps you avoid putting too much on.

Formula: This is my favourite formula out of all my liquid lipsticks. It’s so pigmented, it’s not patchy, it dries so quickly, it’s so moisturising, it’s not drying in the slightest, it has a tiny amount of transfer, it doesn’t emphasis my lip lines at all, it wears off really evenly and it has decent longevity. I have nothing bad to say about this formula.

Company/Owner: There are many bad things to say about the owner however. I would own so many more Jeffree Star products if it wasn’t for, well, Jeffree Star. I don’t really know where to start? I really liked Jeffree when I found him on YouTube, but there are just so many stories and controversies and drama surrounding him. His actions have labelled him racist, hypocritical, abusive, sexist and unprofessional, just to name a few. The way he responds to these allegations doesn’t help his image either. I’d be throwing money at him left, right and centre if it wasn’t for everything surrounding him. I really want people to be aware of a company’s action and not support them, but I’ve bought two of his liquid lipsticks and I still follow him on YouTube and Instagram, so maybe I can’t talk?

Would I recommend this to a friend? I’d tell them how good it is but then tell them how bad I feel at loving the formula, then I’d introduce them to the tea if they’re not already aware.

Too Faced Liquified Matte Long Wear Lipstick

IMG_8194.jpg

Shade “Sell Out”

Price: $30

Packaging: This is my favourite packaging out of all the ones I own! I think it’s just so sturdy and high quality and I’m never worried about this leaking. It just looks gorgeous!

Applicator: I really love this applicator, it’s small and precise and it’s very easy to line your lips with!

Formula: I love this formula so much that it’s tied second with Lime Crime! It’s everything you want in a liquid lipstick; matte but non-drying, great longevity, doesn’t emphasise my lip lines heaps, fades nicely when it comes come off and it feels light weight. I just wish they had way more shades in this range!

Company/Owner: Too Faced used to be my favourite brand, however recently they have been bringing out a lot of products that have been misses rather than hits. The NikkiTutorials collaboration palette and the Chocolate Chip palettes have received such negative reviews, but they have produced so many of my favourite products in the past. I think because it took them quite some time to bring out these liquid lipsticks that they really had time to perfect the formula. Too Faced has also prided themselves on being cruelty free, but they recently were bought by parent company Estée Lauder for over a billion dollars, and it’s very public that Estée Lauder is not cruelty free. Too Faced have bunny designs printed into their blushes and “teddy bear hair” brushes, so hopefully this new partnership doesn’t change their cruelty free rating.

Would I recommend this to a friend? Definitely!

Swatches

IMG_8192.jpg

So those are my many thoughts on all of these liquid lipsticks! If you’ve made it to the end, congratulations! If you have any questions feel free to leave me a comment below in case I’ve forgotten to mention something.

What’s your favourite liquid lipstick brand? Tell me below! I’d also love to hear about the ones that didn’t work well for you!

If you enjoyed this post please give it a “like” so I know!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | BLOGLOVIN’

20 thoughts on “Liquid Lipstick Comparison

  1. Yaaaaas thank you for not ignoring the brands/people endorsing! Soooo many people don’t care but I think it’s really important to think about. (Also, John Kuckian fan???)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes it’s so important! Like, it’s more important than the formula, people need to know who their money is going to because you’re ultimately supporting them and their views! Thank you so much for reading! AAA YES I LOVE JOHN! “Victim card! *puts sock on face*” hahaha, I love what he’s doing, I hope his channel stays safe! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was a great post! I kind of feel the same way about liquid lipsticks, I tried one and then I had to try them all and I’m still itching to try more, I may have a problem, haha. I really want to try the Jeffree Star ones because I hear nothing but good things about the product but Jeffree Star makes me not want to give any money to him, even if it is a great product.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone in the obsessed to keep trying them! Urgh yes JS makes me so torn and I’d love to have all his stuff and talk about him on my blog but he’s so conflicting! Xx

      Like

      1. The obesseion is real, I’m trying to curb my buying of liquid lipstick though because I have a ridiculous amount of already. I’ve never purchased anything by him but just knowing all of the things going on really make me not want to, maybe I’ll cave but as of right now I just don’t see myself supporting him in anyway.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Literally same, I have my liquid lipstick collection blog post going up next and I’m really satisfied with everything I own, so I don’t feel I need anymore for a long time! I agree! I might cave again in the far off future where he’s nicer/less problematic? *fingers crossed* xx

        Like

  3. I absolutely love the Kylie Liquid Lips *hides* I love them for everyday even though they can be very drying especially when I suck at staying hydrated. But for not having to reapply and not having anxiety over the patients thinking I look like an idiot with my lipstick half off, I prefer having these in my bag. LOVE LOVE LOVE them and nothing can compare to the so far. Thanks for this comparison, it is vey very detailed

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s SO interesting to read other people’s thoughts on different liquid lipsticks, I feel like liquid lipsticks are very personal and polarising! I actually really like the NYX lip lingerie, Stila and KVD formulas. I also have a mini of a TF one which I really liked the formula of but the shade isn’t something I wear so often, so I’d love to check out a more nude colour. I wanted to try the Jeffree Star formula for the longest time but since all of the drama I’ve completely lost interest! I feel like nowadays every brand has every shade so there’s nothing really I feel like I’m missing out on.

    Tasha // shiwashiful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

