Gingerbread House | Blogmas Day 11

Since I was so please with how my Christmas Tree Brownies turned out, I’m back with one last festive, super easy “baking” post before the year ends! A tradition we do every Christmas in my family is putting together a gingerbread house. It started all the way back when I was in middle school as during the last week of school you could sign up to get a ready made house and decorate it with your friends during class time. Once I moved into high school I didn’t have that opportunity anymore, so mum decided from then on we would buy, construct and decorate a house at home! Here are the photos of the one we constructed this year, with all the decorating done by yours truly! I hope you enjoy this post and get some inspiration from it to either construct one yourself this year or for next Christmas! If you enjoy this post please give it a “like” so I know!

Things You’ll Need

  • Store bought Gingerbread kit (which contains gingerbread, icing, gingerbread house tray, and hard lollies that we never use)
  • Your own lollies because it’ll make everything taste better
  • Time and patience

IMG_7145.jpgIMG_7146.jpgIMG_7147.jpg

Here’s How You Do It

Decorating 

Putting together a gingerbread house is quiet self explanatory, but here’s how I do it and the things I’ve learnt along the way!

  1. Open everything up and make sure no pieces of gingerbread are broken – thankfully nothing was!
  2. Massage your bag of icing for 2 minutes so it’s warm and flows easily.
  3. Snip off the top of the piping bag, the bigger the snip the bigger your piping lines will be, so start small if you’re planning on doing delicate work.
  4. Have a design in mind before you start. I saw a swirly design on Pinterest before I started and I wanted to include a similar design, so I made sure I had room to do that.

IMG_7148.jpg

Once all your pieces are decorated, leave them to properly set! I left mine overnight because I had time to do that, but if you don’t want to wait that long, check up on them regularly to see when the icing has become hard.

Constructing 

  1. When you’re ready to start building your house, pipe icing into the grooves of the tray where your walls will sit in.
  2. Hold your wall there for a few minutes and then start piping the side and bottom of your next wall to create a corner where your two walls will fuse together. This part is always tricky so get someone to help hold them so they don’t slide around and topple over!
  3. Once all four of your walls are iced together, make sure they’re setting properly and won’t fall, and then leave them to dry. They need to be fully set before you put your heavy roof on top! Again, I left mine overnight because I had the time to.
  4. To put the roof on, pipe the top edges of your walls and place one side of the roof on, holding it there to set it. It’s always good to have something on while you hold it there, like a tv show or some YouTube. I think I only held and supervised my roof for about 10 minutes before I felt like it was sturdy enough to handle the other side of the roof.
  5. Do the other side of the roof, wait for it to set and add the chimney!

Finishing Touches

In previous years we’ve always run out of icing quickly, but this year we had heaps left over so I piped the sides of the roof with heaps of icing. The icing was too heavy and it sagged slightly and a bit dropped off the ends, but it actually gave it a pretty realistic look of snow!

IMG_7149.jpgIMG_7150.jpgIMG_7151.jpgIMG_7152.jpgIMG_7153.jpg

And there you have it, a finished gingerbread house! I hope this gave you a little inspiration to create your own in the lead up to Christmas, or to plan to do it next year! It’s so easy and looks really effective when displayed, so if you’re able to create it slowly you won’t have a house that’s sliding everywhere and falling over – like I’ve had in the past! If you enjoyed this post please give it a “like” so I know!

What’s your favourite Christmas food to eat around this time of year? Leave me a comment below so we can chat!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

4 thoughts on “Gingerbread House | Blogmas Day 11

Leave a Reply

