Holiday Makeup Picks For The Festive Season | Blogmas Day 6

To me there is nothing more festive, makeup wise, than a gorgeous bronzy gold shimmery eye, festive red lips and lots of frosty, blinding highlight. Today I’ve gathered up my holiday makeup picks for the festive season that I think achieve this look perfectly! I really love doing seasonal makeup edits, so much so that I have them all organised in my menu bar if you’d ever like to scroll through them. Under the Beauty category I have my “Seasonal Makeup Picks” link where you can see what I’ve loved to use during any time of the year from Spring to Winter, Halloween and now Christmas! So, let’s crack on with it and if you enjoy this post, please give it a “like” so I know!

IMG_6591 copy.jpg

The Perfect Base

The holiday season is a time of indulgence and parties where you want to look your best, so I’ve whipped out some of my favourite high end beauty products to achieve the perfect base. My Revlon ColourStay foundation never lets me down as it has such good coverage, feels lightweight on my skin, doesn’t oxidise and has incredible staying power! I then further conceal and highlight using my Maybelline Master Conceal concealer as it’s super brightening, highly pigmented and has little to no creasing on me! I really love that both these base products are relatively affordable as I use them almost everyday!

IMG_6590 copy.jpg

To add shape and definition to my face I love using my Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Kit as the shades blend like nobody’s business and create the most gorgeous yet natural looking contour in seconds. I never stuff up my makeup when I use this kit and you definitely get what you pay for as the overall finish of the contouring looks amazing! My only down side is I don’t ever really use the contour and highlight shades on the far right, but I love the four other shades! To add some warmth to my face I always use my trusty NARS Orgasm blush as it gives my cheeks the perfect wash of colour without looking over done or fake.

The Bronzy Smokey Eye

To achieve a bronzy smokey eye I always reach for a few fail safe eyeshadows. One of my favourite palettes is the Zoeva Cocoa Blend eyeshadow collection which I featured in my “Affordable Gift Guide” recently. I love it because the shade Pure Ganache is freaking STUNNING on the eyes and fulfils all my shimmery gold, bronze smokey eye needs. I also love taking the two warm toned matte shades next to it in my crease and the dark matte shade on the far right in my outer v to deepen the whole look. If you’re looking for something small to create the perfect bronze smokey eye, you cannot go wrong with the NARS Isolde Eyeshadow Duo. It is amazing, luxurious and beautiful and works like a charm! You can read my whole review on it here!

IMG_6583 copy.jpg

A single shadow I absolutely love is the ColourPop Kathleen Lights shadow which was inspired by MAC’s Amber Lights. It is the most metallic, gold, bronze, shimmery, almost foiled looking shadow which is gorgeous on the eyes. I recommend applying ColourPop shadows with your finger as brushes won’t pick up product up because of their firm yet plushy consistency. A final eyeshadow palette I have been using non-stop recently is the Too Faced Merry Maracons eyeshadow collection which was a present from me to me. It doesn’t have a super intense bronze like the other shadows I’ve shown, but it’s full of warm shades that are perfect transition shades to use with the NARS and ColourPop shadows! It also has so many shimmery metallic shades that can look frosty, so I absolutely love using those in my inner corner to brighten up my whole look. You can read my whole review on it here!

The Festive Red Lip

A red lip is a must around Christmas time to wear at least once, and here are my top three picks! Jeffree Star’s Anna Nicole is super bright and bold but has great staying power and won’t budge throughout the night! The NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in Dolce Vita is my favourite as it’s so light weight on your lips but does not move at all as it almost stains your lips (but not in a bad way!). Finally, the most vampy of them all is the Rimmel 107 Lipstick which became a cult favourite after Zoella wore it almost everyday and continues to. It’s super dark on me but it is such a gorgeous red so it’s perfect for any evening event!

IMG_6582 copy.jpg

Finishing Touches

To finish the look I always put on a few coats of mascara using my Maybelline Lash Sensational, set my brows using the L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper and amp up my glow using my favourite highlighter, the BECCA Champagne Pop highlighter!

IMG_6581 copy.jpg

So, that is how I achieve a bronzy, glowing, festive red lip look for the holiday season! What products do you love using for this time of the year? Leave me a comment below so we can chat!

Don’t forget to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

One thought on “Holiday Makeup Picks For The Festive Season | Blogmas Day 6

Leave a Reply

