October Favourites

Since I’m writing my October Favourites a full week into November I’ve completely forgotten all the bad from the last month! Looking back now, all my fears and anxiety surrounding the assessment pieces I had due have been replaced with the amazing memories I made celebrating so many of my friend’s 18ths. I hope you love my October Favourites as much as I do and enjoy this post!

October Favourites.jpg

October is the busiest month for birthdays in my squad so a few weeks earlier I had ordered some statement jewellery for all the events! My favourite pair of earrings I bought are these gorgeous gold cross earrings from Princess Polly called the “Diablo Cross” earrings, which you can check out here. I’m in love with them however they are heavy but lucky you get used to the feeling. They are the first thing I take off as soon as I’m home though! But can we all just take a moment to admire the detail? I’m in love with this style of jewellery and fashion and they remind me so much of the looks you would see from a Dolce & Gabbana or Balmain runway.

IMG_5522.jpg

Because I love being dramatic I wore the gold ColourPop Super Shock Eyeshadow in Kathleen Lights with the Diablo Cross earrings and I’m so in love with the shade! It’s a true bronze gold shade and it’s exactly the type of eyeshadow shade I gravitate towards. The pigmentation of ColourPop shadows is actually insane and I’ve never experienced a formula like these before. They are mousse like but not super soft and not like a gel, maybe more like soft clay, if that makes sense? Whatever they are, I’m freaking obsessed and a rave review on Kathleen’s “Where The Light Is” set is on the way!

IMG_5524.jpg

One of my other friends also threw a dress up party for her 18th and you can read about all the products I used in this MOTD post here! I wore the Australis Metallix eyeshadow in the shade Pearl Jammin’, because if you can’t wear a super creamy, ultra metallic and glittery eyeshadow to a dress up party, when can you? This shade is like rose gold on your eye lids and stood out so well with the false lashes I had on! The staying power on this shadow is amazing as well, so I definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something more dramatic for special occasions or nights out. I have swatches of both these shadows further down!

IMG_5525.jpg

For my lips for that same party I wore the Lime Crime Velvetines Liquid Lipstick in the shade Bleached and I really loved it! It stayed on for almost the whole night, it never felt uncomfortable and when it did wear off it still looked super natural when it faded. I also really love the shade, it’s almost a my lips but better shade when it’s on. Here are some swatches!

IMG_5526.jpg

L – R: Lime Crime Bleached, Kathleen Lights, Pearl Jammin’ 

To fully get my dramatic glow on I’ve been absolutely loving the BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop highlighter, which is my all time favourite highlighter until I eventually buy another one of BECCA’s highlighters. It’s just so pigmented, soft, gorgeous and glowing – I could write about this all day.

IMG_5523.jpg

My final beauty favourite for the month is (a mini sample of) the Bobbi Brown Smokey Eye Mascara I received in my latest Mecca Beauty Loop Box. I think I love this so much because it was free, but it does give heaps of length to my lashes which is great! It just doesn’t provide the most volume to my lashes as others do, but in saying that it’s been perfect for everyday wear! It has made me realise how much I love mascaras with bristle applicators, not the plastic ones that I’ve been using all year, so it’s definitely made me want to try more brands!

Now onto my non materialistic favourites from the month and there are so many, which is amazing! I’ve broken them into the following categories!

TV SHOWS

RuPaul’s Drag Race All Stars Season 2 finished and my all time favourite queen Alaska was crowned as the winner! I’m so incredibly happy for her but at the same time I wanted Katya to win so badly as well! It was one of my favourite seasons from the whole series and I could talk about the show nonstop forever. Each episode came out on a Friday and was always a reward for getting through the week!

Amanda Knox is on Netflix and oh my god it is so freaking good and interesting and I highly recommend you watch it if you love thriller, murder documentaries. It follows the story of Amanda Knox who was believed to have murdered her roommate and shows her side of the story to the whole drama as she’s actually interviewed the entire time. Not only is it so interesting but it’s filmed so beautifully? The murder happened in Italy so you can image all the beautiful scenery shots the film crew captured!

Gogglebox Australia finished its second season in October and I’m so sad! I ended up loving the show after automatically judging it as ridiculous when I saw the ads for the first season. It’s so funny and I love all the couples and families they feature, so I recommend giving it a go if you judged it harshly in the past like myself!

GIRLS

Throughout October I became somehow even more appreciative of the gorgeous, creative girls I see online, if that was even possible.

Lucy Garland – Lucy does the most amazing drag makeup tutorials and I live for every single one. Her Instagram and YouTube channel are filled with wonderful things. Not only does she do drag tutorials but she also did an “eras” series where she recreated looks from different decades which was so uncanny because the theme to one of my friends parties was “eras”, so I found her to be such a good source of inspiration!

Screen Shot 2016-11-07 at 6.23.45 pm.png

Eleanor Barnes – Her Instagram and YouTube channel are so freaking amazing because she’s always changing up her look with different wigs, makeup and fashion styles, and I can’t get enough of her. Look at this perfection? Will I ever be this cool? Will I ever pull off this pose? Nope, but she can.

Screen Shot 2016-11-07 at 6.30.28 pm.png

Erika Lipps – Not a YouTuber but look at how stunning Erika’s face is?? I could literally look at it all day, so scrolling through her Instagram feed is the next best thing. All three of these girls have inspired me to post more selfies and try different looks because they have so much confidence and fun while doing so!

Screen Shot 2016-11-07 at 6.35.55 pm.png

MUSIC

Remember when I mentioned Alaska above? She released her second album Poundcake in October and I’ve been living for it. My favourite tracks are The T, Slaytina, Stun and Puppet. I’m just so proud of everything she’s doing and what she’s over come in the past to get where she is so this album represents so much!

Another favourite queen of mine, Willam Belli, released his book Suck Less: Where There’s a Willam, There’s a Way and with that he also released the song Read Her and it’s all so Willam and crass and I’m so happy he’s doing so well.

Sticking with gay icons, I’ve been listening to so much Madonna lately since getting Apple Music and having a whole library of her music. These are so many tracks I love but my most played has been Material Girl which is very fitting considering my whole blog is about “things“.

Lisa Mitchell and Bruno Mars both released new music this month however I’ve been obsessed with their old music lately, so I thought I’d mention them as well because I’ve been playing their music on repeat.

LIFE

My first ever ColourPop order arrived in October and I was so happy with everything I ordered! You can read all about my excitement and first impressions in my blog post about it!

I hit 1000 followers on my Instagram in October! I’m so incredibly happy and proud of how far my little account has come. From just putting together creative little flatlays of my day to turning that passion into a blog, I’m so thrilled about hitting this milestone! You can join the party by following my Instagram @jessica_riga!

I got a High Distinction on my Journalism Law assignment and I thought I didn’t do very well but I did! I always try my best but I also always freak out and doubt what I’m doing, so this was such an amazing thing to get!

I successfully completed my 31 day Makeup Buying Ban! I felt like I had spent too much money recently so I went cold turkey and said no to every sale, new release and special offer that came my way, and I’m so happy I was strong enough not to give in!

This post was huge and if you’ve read to the end I congratulate you! What did you love throughout October? Leave me a comment below so we can chat!

Also don’t forget to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

6 thoughts on “October Favourites

    1. Thank you so much! I think using your finger works best! It’s a little hard to be precise but you get so much pigmentation and you can do another layer and it won’t go weird! They do crease on your lids but it’s not noticeable as they’re so metallic and reflective! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

