MOTD: 20s Inspired Makeup Look

Last night one of my friends celebrated their 18th with a party where the theme was ‘eras’! I took inspiration from the 1920s for my look and thought it’d be the perfect occasion to start a “Makeup Of The Day” series! I didn’t fully commit to the time period of thin brows and tiny lips and instead just took the oppourtunity to go ultra glam with lots of lashes and highlight! So, I hope you enjoy this post!

IMG_5383.jpg

Base

I wanted a really flawless base for my makeup so I reached for a foundation I know has the fullest coverage and that’s my Revlon Colourstay foundation in the shade 110 Ivory. This is a matte foundation, which I love, but I feel like it’s almost too white for my skin tone, so to avoid looking like a total ghost I mixed in some of my Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous foundation which is a bit dark for me on it’s own. In the end I still looked fair, but at least I looked like I had some life in me! For concealer I used my current favourite which is the Maybelline Master Conceal in the shade 10 Fair. To set it all I used my Maybelline Matte Maker Mattifying Powder in the shade 10 Classic Ivory.

IMG_5384.jpg

Shape

Once my base is all finished I tend to look like a shapeless egg, so I always reach for some holy grail products to give my face some definition! I first contoured with the Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Kit which is so freaking good and effortlessly gives you such a nice shape. I always start contouring using the contour shade of the far left then slowly add the darker colours into the mix to achieve a really blended and natural look. To add a flush of colour I always use my Nars Orgasm blush and to give my face the dramatic glow it needs I of course used my Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop highlighter. I can’t wait to visit Sephora again and pick up another one of the Becca highlighters because they are just on another level and have 100% gotten me obsessed with the highlighting trend.

IMG_5385.jpg

Eyes + Brows

Since I love eyeshadow I always make my eyes the main event, and for this party I took it up a gear! I absolutely love the Australis Metallix single eyeshadow in the shade Pearl Jammin’ so I based my whole look around using this. Before I put this gorgeous rose gold shadow all over my lid I first used the shades Peaches ‘N Cream, Puree and Summer Yum from the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette as transition shades in my crease. I wanted a really warm, smokey effect and these shades worked perfectly. I then used Pearl Jammin’ (which I recommend you use your finger for because it will work so insanely well!) on my lid and on my outer corner used Tempting from the Sweet Peach palette. I also draw on a thin but long wing with my new Too Faced Sketch Marker eyeliner in the shade Deep Expresso! 

IMG_5389.jpg

I then used this new sample of the Bobbie Brown Smokey Eye mascara which I found out gives your lashes so much length! I still used false lashes though and I used the Bambi style from Glam Eyes. I bought these so long ago so I’m not entirely sure if this exact pair is still around, but a similar, pointy style would definitely still be. I then ran my L’Oreal Brow Artist Plumper brow gel through my brows and moved on to my lips!

Lips

IMG_5386.jpg

I’m a lazy person who can’t stand touching up their lipstick so I definitely wanted something to stay in place all night! I picked the Lime Crime Velvetine Liquid Lipstick in Bleached as it’s a perfect dusty dark pink shade. I wanted to make my lips look a little bigger though so I ran Marshmallow by Lime Crime in the inner part of my lips to create a bit of an ombre as it’s a lighter colour. Before I did all that I quickly lined by lips using my Kylie Cosmetics Lip Liner in the shade Candy K! Here are swatched of the lips products and Pearl Jammin’ which I mentioned before!

IMG_5387.jpg

L – R: Pearl Jammin’ Marshmallow, Bleached, Candy K 

So that’s every product I used for my look last night! Here’s me on the right with my friends who went as the 60s and 90s! I hope you enjoyed this post and if you did please give it a “like” and follow me on WordPress or Instagram @jessica_riga to stay up to date!

What’s one of your ride or die makeup items? I love Champagne Pop!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

2 thoughts on “MOTD: 20s Inspired Makeup Look

Leave a Reply

