Vampy Makeup Picks For The Spooky Season

Orange decorations are popping up in stores, creepy and cute makeup tutorials are flooding my subscription box, and the house down the road from me was fully decked out as a haunted house by the first of October – Halloween is here! I love this time of the year but funnily enough I’m a scaredy cat through and through, Pretty Little Liars and Scream Queens is as “spooky” as I like to get (however I’m dying to watch Stranger Things when this semester is done!). While I can’t sit through a horror film, I do love makeup and change what I wear depending on the time of the year. Today I’ve picked items I love for their quality, but also for their very appropriate and gothically gorgeous packaging! So, here are my vampy makeup picks for the spooky season!

trick-or-treat

It’s Spring in Australia right now, but all my social media platforms are filled with bloggers, gurus and brands alike posting warm toned eyeshadows and berry lips for Autumn, so I’m definitely sticking with those trends!

IMG_5221.jpg

IMG_5220.jpg

IMG_5222.jpg

I love warm toned eyeshadows for any time of the year, so Halloween is no exception. The star of my life right now is the Violet Voss Holy Grail eyeshadow palette and oh my goodness isn’t it divine?? I’ve wanted this for so long and one day it came back in stock on Beauty Bay so I bought it immediately, and I’m glad I did because it sold out within a couple hours! I am yet to do a full review post on this beauty, but so far I’m using the shades Transition, Bestie and R U Kitten Me as transition shades, Brownie Points and Teddy Bear for crease shades and Awesome Sauce, Chill and How U Doin for lid shades. I’ve also worn Toffee on my lids for a party and it’s gorgeous! This palette fills all your warm toned, spooky, festive, Autumnal/Fall needs and has honestly left me stumped on what palette to buy next.

On a much smaller eyeshadow scale I’m also loving the NARS Eyeshadow Duo in the shade Isolde which is gorgeous for all year round! I’ve done a review on this little baby and it’s such amazing quality and won’t disappoint any beauty lover. Both this duo and the Violet Voss palette have the most pigmented, creamy, blendable shades which last for ages on your eyes!

IMG_5223.jpgIMG_5224.jpg

When I wanted to do a post about makeup picks for the spooky season, one brand came into my mind first – Kat Von D. Her brand and aesthetic is ultra vampy and dark, so it’s no wonder her Shade + Light Contour Kit found it’s way into my flatlay (hey that rhymes!). I’ve done a review on this product and since writing that I’ve fallen in love with it even more. Her shades are so perfect for me and easy to blend and create the most natural looking contour.

For my face I’ve also been using the Revlon Colourstay foundation for Normal/Dry skin in the shade 110 Ivory. I really like this foundation as it lasts all day and has great coverage! I’ve also been testing out the new Too Faced Born This Way concealer in the shade Very Fair, and it’s a great shade to highlight with but I think this formula creases easily, so I need to try it with different techniques and setting powders!

I’ve also given my NARS blush a break and started using my Sleek Blush trio again. I love mixing the two shades on the end together and they give the face a really beautiful but super subtle glow to even out the matte finish of the foundation.

IMG_5225.jpg

Now to lips! I don’t actually wear lipstick often as it feels over the top for uni and my work doesn’t allow it, but these terracotta and berry shades scream Autumn/Vampy/Halloween goodness to me! First up is the Kat Von D Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in the shade Lolita II. This dries down matte and feels so light weight on your lips, so I really like that. I do think Kat’s lipsticks tend to apply a little patchy (as you can see in my swatch below), so if I’m not careful I’ll have an area that’s darker than the rest, so keep that in mind if you’re an impatient applier like myself. But can we take a minute to appreciate the packaging? Stunning.

Next is the most “casual” formula of all my picks and it’s the NARS Velvet Lip Pencil in the shade Dolce Vita. I love this lip pencil as it gives such a gorgeous pinky rose nude hue to the lips but also looks so effortless. If I had to wear one of these to uni I would pick this one as it’s so light weight, easy to apply and reapply throughout the day and the shade would suit anyone.

IMG_5226.jpg

Next is the cult favourite Kate Moss Rimmel 107 Lipstick that Zoella fans will know very well. This shade is gorgeous but it does change depending on the light, where it’s on and who’s wearing it. On my lips it looks super dark and purple and vampy, on Zoella it looks way more red and bright, and on my arm it’s a gorgeous cherry red. I love Rimmel lipsticks and I would definitely recommend their formula as they’re super hydrating, pigmented, easy to apply and last for ages!

Finally, the most beautiful berry shade for this time of the year is the Maybelline Colour Drama lip pencils in the shade Berry Much. This shade is freaking amazing and I really need to wear it more, but dark shades are daunting, so give me time! These pencils are ultra pigmented and have a satin finish, plus they’re a bargain if you can find them on sale. I’ve done a review on three of their shades and you can check that out as well if you’re interested!

IMG_5227.jpg

The final touch to any vampy makeup look is some eyeliner, and I’m a fan of super sharp wings using liquid liners. My top picks are the Maybelline Master Precise in Blackest Black and the new Too Faced Sketch Marker in the shade Deep Expresso! I love both these liners, the Too Faced one is very new to be so I don’t know how long it will last but it’s beautifully pigmented. The Maybelline one tends to dry out after a while, so keep your liners placed upside down to keep them alive for a little longer and the product sitting at the tip rather than the bottom of the tube!

So those are my vampy makeup picks for the spooky season! Are you dressing up for Halloween this year? Or, what makeup tutorial have you seen so far that you’ve loved? I’m obsessed with all the looks Shaaanxo pulls out every year!

Give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love and thank you for reading,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

6 thoughts on “Vampy Makeup Picks For The Spooky Season

Leave a Reply

