September Favourites

For a moment I was about to write “wow how is it already October?“, but September was exhausting, stressful and a little fulfilling towards the end, so I’m more than happy to wave it goodbye and welcome in everything October has to offer. I don’t have a giant stack of newly discovered all time favourites – in fact this posts features a, god forbid, repeat favourite – and that’s for two reasons. September gave us Spring and with that comes hay fever and it turns my eyes don’t handle that very well. I put down the eyeshadow palettes and contact lenses and swapped those for my glasses to allow my face to chill out. September also meant I had assessment pieces and due dates coming from every angle, so all things beauty took a bit of a back seat. The theme of this months favourites is definitely quality and not quantity, so I hope you enjoy my September Favourites!

September-Favourites.jpg

To start with I’ve been obsessed with the Mary-Lou Manizer Highlighter by The Balm and yes I have mentioned this in a previous monthly favourites, but it’s just so good! I actually didn’t use this much when I first got it, but since I had to forfeit my all time favourite makeup item of eyeshadow for a few weeks, I’ve been focusing more on other areas of my makeup. I freaking love highlighters and Mary-Lou gives such a natural glow to the skin. It’s pigmented but blends insanely well and it’s so easy to build it up if you want an even more intense look. I did a more in depth review of this in my “All That Glitters – Highlighter Review + Comparison” blog post, so you can read that to find out more!

Mary-Lou-Manizer.jpg

I really enjoyed using the Rimmel London Sculpting Palette during September! I picked it up half price in my “Affordable Makeup Haul” and I’m actually impressed by it, so I see why so many beauty lovers raved about it when it first came out. The highlighter shade is decently pigmented and works well, but the contour and blush shades are amazing! They’re both really pigmented but blend out effortlessly as well. I recommend this if you’re looking for something simple and affordable that has everything in it, and I also think it’s great for travelling as it’s so compact and slim.

Rimmel-Sculpting-Palette.jpg

Another affordable product that I’m even more impressed with is the Maybelline Master Conceal Concealer in the shade 10 Fair. Attention pale girls, this concealer is actually light enough for us to highlight with! Huzzah! But in all seriousness this is probably the best concealer I have ever used, and I’ve tried so many over the years. It’s really pigmented so it conceals my dark circles and a little goes a long way, it leans towards the yellow side so it really helps brighten my dark circles and anywhere I choose to highlight, and it doesn’t crease badly on me! There have been days it doesn’t crease at all and others where it does the tiniest amount, so I think it’s a matter of how much you apply and how you set it. All in all, this has become one of my favourite products from the entire year, so I hope it somehow doesn’t let me down in the future!

Maybelline-Master-Concealer.jpg

Oh look, Jessica is talking about those Rimmel Kate Moss lipsticks again. Why yes I am, and I don’t even care that this is the third blog post in a row where these have been mentioned (I do, I’m sorry for the repetitive content but I’ll shoosh up about them after this). I mentioned these bad boys in my “Affordable Makeup Haul” post blog and even did a review on them, so you can check those posts out for more info! Overall, they’re creamy, pigmented, long wearing, fade really evenly, the shades 54 and 54 are perfect for me for everyday and the packaging is copper/rose gold. Need I continue?

Rimmel-Kate-Moss-Lipsticks.jpg

Now it time for my favourite part of my monthly favourites: my none-materialistic favourites I can’t capture in a flatlay! 

Pinterest – For some reason I thought I had mentioned in this a previous favourites but I don’t think I have, but I’m been using Pinterest lately and I really enjoy it! I’m still getting used to it and I still don’t fully understand it, but you can check out my pins and follow me here! I used to be obsessed with tumblr and was proud of my public account that hit 4,000 followers at one point, but over time I just grew out of it and forgot to ever use it. I do however still use a fandom one that’s filled with drag race gifs and memes, so tumblr still has a special place in my heart.

Project Runway All Stars Season God Knows What (I think it’s up to All Stars 5??) – I have Foxtel and they’re currently airing a certain season of Project Runway All Stars and I’m LIVING for it. I have no idea what season it is and I don’t want to Google it because I know I’ll spoil it for myself, but it has Sam, Dom and Kini on it if that rings a bell to anyone reading. This season is so catty compared to others and I’m not complaining one bit! Since I’m so involved and obsessed with Drag Race it’s been really refreshing to watch something of a similar format once a week and know absolutely no spoilers.

Simply Kenna – I found a new YouTuber to watch and it’s Simply Kenna! She’s so cute and her filming is so creative but the overall vibe of her videos is really calm and chilled, so it’s been great to find her and explore all her content. She also has a killer Instagram which makes me sad at the fact I’ve never experienced a proper Autumn with fireplaces, super wooly knits and crunchy leaves.

Lana Del Rey Remixes – I can’t stand it when radios remix Lana Del Rey songs just so it’s more upbeat to play to audience. No! Just leave it alone! Don’t bother playing it! However, Apple Music recommend me a playlist of remixes so I decided to give some a listen thinking “lol let’s see how this goes”. Jokes on me for being so quick to judge because I actually love three of them which are Blue Jeans, Video Games and Summertime Sadness remixes.

The somewhat fulfilment I mentioned at the start – I got a High Distinction on one of my university assignments! It was worth 15% but I put so much time and effort into it to make it perfect because I thought it would take so much to just pass it as it was a really difficult assessment piece, and my efforts paid off! It was a nice surprise and a silver lining in my semester of “ha ha I don’t know what I’m doing”.

So there we have it, those we my September Favourites! What have you been loving through the last month? Or, what are you excited about for October? I only have four weeks of university left (plus one exam in November), and then I’m done with my first year!

Don’t forgot to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love and thank you for reading,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

9 thoughts on “September Favourites

  1. I’ve been eyeing off the Rimmel London Sculpting Palette for a while, it looks like it may actually be good ahha
    I’m glad you liked it, maybe I’ll have to go get it now 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

