Create Your Own Eyeshadow Palette Tag

This is by far the most creative I’ve gotten in a while and the most excited I’ve been to publish a post since I started my blog. I’m sure at some point in their lives most beauty junkies have thought up of ideas for their very own eyeshadow palette. What shades they’d put in, the colour family, what order, names, pan size, packaging… the list goes on. I kid you not, I have done all of this in my head – but of course, it was heavily inspired by my favourite drag queens. So you can imagine my absolute excitement when Katina’s version of the “Create Your Own Eyeshadow Palette Tag” came up in my Bloglovin’ feed. I loved reading her post and found it so interesting what shades people think make a great palette. This tag actually originated from Kat from Kitsch Snitch, and her rules were to pick only 12 shades and put them in a palette. My ultimate imaginary fantasy palette took on a life of it’s own and multiplied into an 18 shade extravaganza, so I hope bending the rules slightly was okay! I took it one step further again and photoshopped together my actual dream palette using the Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette as a skeleton and inserting my chosen shades into the pans. I included two versions of my palette, the first having all the real names of the shades from their existing palette and the second being my actual “Create Your Own Palette” complete with their new, drag queen inspired shade names. In a perfect world, if I had my own cosmetics line I would 100% be naming my eyeshadows and lipsticks after all my muses. So, without further ado, here’s my Create Your Own Palette Tag! I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed creating it!

Jessica Riga Cosmetics Create Your Own Palette copy copy.jpg

The finished product of my dream palette is definitely a warm toned collection filled with heaps of neutrals, golds, bronzes, pinks, purples, and rich darker tones. I also tried it get a great variation of finishes, so the palette is filled with my go-to matte transition shades and my holy grail feature shades in satin, shimmer, and even a glitter formula. I picked these shades by just going through my favourite palettes and picking out my most used shades. The real life palettes used to create this include the:

  • Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette
  • Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Palette
  • Too Faced Natural Eyes Palette
  • Nars Isolde Eyeshadow Duo
  • Zoeva Cocoa Blend Eyeshadow Palette 

Here’s the actual version I’d create if I ever had the chance to create a palette and copyright laws somehow didn’t exist in order for me to use all the queens names. This is a fantasy palette, I can be as weird and creative as I want!

Jessica Riga Cosmetics Drag Queen Palette copy 2.jpg

The reason why I idolise drag queens, specifically from Rupaul’s Drag Race, is that they represent so many things – strength, confidence, acceptance, beauty, creativity, charisma, uniqueness, nerve, talent and more. Ultimately, those are all traits I love in others but also what I want to see in myself. Below I put swatches and descriptions of the shades, why I chose them and why I associated each one to a certain queen. 

First Row 

L – R: Bitter Start | Satin Sheets | Cashmere Bunny | Substitute For Love | Pure Ganache | Sexpresso

IMG_3882.jpg

Bitter Start/Pearl – Bitter Start is from the Zoeva Cocoa Blend palette and is a matte, true “Pearly” white shade. It’s perfect for highlighting under the brow, inner corners of the eyes, setting eyeshadow primer and blending other shades. It’s probably one of the most versatile shades in my fantasy palette and was one of the first I picked. 

Satin Sheets/Kim Chi – From the Too Faced Bon Bons palette, Satin Sheets is an incredible, almost duo chrome shimmer shade. It looks white but has a pinky gold reflect to it. It’s cute as heck but also fierce – much like Kim Chi. 

Cashmere Bunny/Naomi – Every palette needs a few matte transition shades. One of the first I picked was Cashmere Bunny from the Too Faced Natural Eyes palette. It’s a cool toned matte that blends like a dream and goes with any makeup look. 

Substitute For Love/Jinkx – One of my favourite shades ever is Substitute For Love from the Zoeva Cocoa Blend eyeshadow palette. It a very warm, matte brown with a sprinkle of gold shimmer in it that doesn’t show up in the skin, which I like. It’s another perfect matte transition shade but since it’s warm it really makes blue eyes stand out. Plus, the subtle yet fiery tones remind me of season 5 winner Jinkx. 

Pure Ganache/Willam – Glamorous, dramatic, gorgeous, Willam. This shade from the Cocoa Blend palette is another one of my all time favourites. It’s the perfect golden shimmer and I can’t get enough of those shades, as you can see in the palette. I love everything about this shade and I love everything about Willam, so it only made sense to name it after the only queen to ever get disqualified from the show yet is still a fan favourite over 99 other queens. 

Sexpresso/Raven – Please excuse the absolute disaster that is my swatch of this shade. Expresso is from the Natural Eyes palette, and reminds me of Cashmere Bunny’s more sultry, older sister. It makes sense as Naomi idolises Raven, a fan favourite from Season 2 and All Stars Season 1. It’s perfect for smoking out the outer corner, the lash line, or for blending other shades for a more dramatic look. Plus, it’s another amazing transition shade. 

Second Row

L – R: Nectar | Honey Pot | Bellini | Push Up | Summer Yum | Tempting

IMG_3848.jpg

Nectar/Adore – Much like Adore in her season of RDR, this shade in the Too Faced Sweet Peach palette looked okay until I saw its full potential. It’s a stunning, shimmery gold champagne colour. It’s fantastic for highlighting when you want a shimmer or as an all over lid shade and immediately became a surprise favourite of mine when I got the SP palette. 

Honey Pot/Detox – This was my ride or die gold shimmer shade when I first started and was the shadow that got me fully into makeup. It’s gold and shimmery but is much less bronzy and way more cool toned compared to all the other golds in this palette. Detox is a bit of a diamond in the rough, and I feel like not enough people know how good the Natural Eyes palette is. 

Bellini/Katya – Bellini from the Sweet Peach palette is literally like rose gold in an eye shadow form. It’s feminine, girly, and goes with so many looks. It’s one of my favourite eyeshadows ever, so of course I named it after my queen Katya who stole my heart and many others. 

Push Up/Bob – Push Up is from the Natural Eyes palette and is the most perfect everyday shimmer shade. It’s much more purple than Bellini but is so neutral and simple yet effective, much like the makeup style of Season 8 winner Bob. 

Summer Yum/Bianca – One of my all time favourite shades and queens. Summer Yum is another matte transition shade that’s much warm and richer than Substitute For Love, which I need in a palette. I’m obsessed with this shade, it’s a classic subtle but fiery shade, just like Bianca’s humour. She stole my heart with her rolodex of hate when she won Season 6, so it only felt right to give her a shade I love so much. 

Tempting/Sharon – Tempting is from the Sweet Peach palette and is a black shimmer shade with purple reflective glitter in it. It’s dark and smokey and instantly makes any look dramatic without going over the top, just like Season 4 Winner Sharon. 

Third Row

L – R: Isolde | Luscious | Warm Notes | Totally Fetch | Peach Pit | Talk Derby To Me

IMG_3852.jpg

Isolde/Raja – From the Nars Isolde Eyeshadow Duo, this shade is a champion’s true gold shade. It’s expensive, timeless, and loved among many, just like Season 3 winner Raja.

Luscious/Alaska – This shade is to die for, it’s the prettiest most champagne pink satiny shimmer shade I’ve ever seen. Just like Alaska (who I’m rooting for and am 99% sure will win All Stars Season 2), it has a special place in my heart. I use this in my inner corner for a highlight or on the centre of my lid for some more dimension and to brighten up the look. Luscious is from the Sweet Peach Palette. 

Warm Notes/Courtney – The online photo of Warm Notes, which is from the Zoeva Cocoa Blend palette, looks purple, but in reality it’s a lot more pink. I love this shade. It’s ultra girly and shimmery and fun, and that’s Courtney. I think pinks look amazing and really wearable when smoked out with warm shades like Summer Yum. 

Totally Fetch/Trixie – This is Totally Fetch from the Too Faced Bon Bons palette and it is literally Trixie Mattel in eyeshadow form. It looks crazy because it’s hot pink, but then you swatch it and the pigmentation isn’t wild which means it turns into this really beautiful and wearable pink shade. I haven’t used this shade a terrible amount since I got it, but I can’t wait for Spring and Summer where I will definitely be using it to add a pop of colour to my lash line, which is an easy way to incorporate colours. 

Peach Pit/Violet – Again, this is Season 7 winner Violet in an eyeshadow form. Peach Pit is, obviously, from the Sweet Peach palette and is a gorgeous deep purple shimmer with purple reflects to it. While it’s dark it’s actually so wearable and I love putting it in my outer corner. 

Talk Derby To Me/Fame – I still don’t fully understand the meaning of “Talk Derby To Me” from the Sweet Peach Palette but I’m putting it in my palette as it’s gorgeous. It’s like the love child between Violet’s Peach Pit and Sharon’s Tempting, but with more purple glitter. It’s perfect for smoking out an outer corner or as a base for even more shimmery shades. Plus, it looks like a freaking galaxy, just like my cosmic queen Miss Fame. 

So that’s the end of my version of the Create Your Own Palette Tag! It’s an explosion of everything I love, warm toned eyeshadows and drag queens, so I hope you liked it as much as I do. I’m meant to tag specific people now, but I tag any blogger who is reading this who wants to do it for themselves! 

What would you put in your dream eyeshadow palette if you had the chance to create one? Leave me a comment below so we can chat! Also don’t forget to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it! 

All the love, 

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

8 thoughts on “Create Your Own Eyeshadow Palette Tag

    1. Aw thank you so much, that means a lot! I know right hahaha I didn’t realise how long it too me to photoshop it until I was done. I had so much fun doing all of this though and I’m so proud of it 👏🏼😄💖 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

