Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Kit Review

First of all, I’m alive! I’ve been sick and out of action the last couple of days and had to forfeit my second blog post last week, but today I’m back with a quick product review! I remember months ago saying “wow I’ll never own a huge contour kit, who needs all those shades?”. Well, look what we have here. Today I’m going to be reviewing the Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Kit which I picked up the other month from Sephora. Long story short, while I haven’t tried out heaps of contouring products or kits, I do really like this palette, so let’s get on with the review!

IMG_3737 copy.png

Price

$64 AUD at Sephora

Packaging

This kit comes in sturdy cardboard packaging with the words “Shade + Light” and Kat’s logo embossed on the front in shiny black and silver writing. There’s also a huge mirror inside that’s amazing quality and doesn’t distort anything. The palette has a bit of weight to it and feels expensive. Overall, the packaging is gorgeous and has Kat’s personality all over it! The only down side is that because it’s cardboard it can get dirty easily, so I tend to be careful around it as it’s still new to me and I don’t want to accidentally smear foundation all over it in the morning.

IMG_3738 copy.png

Product

Inside the palette you get three highlighting shades called lucid, lyric and levitation and three contouring shades, sombre, shadowplay and subconscious. These all come in various shades and all have a matte finish. The formula in this kit is amazing! The shades are so soft and easy to work with and blend so seamlessly, but they aren’t too powdery or have a lot of fall out at all. My most used shades are lucid and sombre as I’m fair and for everyday use just want to create a natural looking shadow.

The first few times I tried this kit I didn’t like it and I thought the shades were hard to blend. However, I was using this brush from Smashbox that is way too fluffy for contouring. I then used the kit with the Zoeva Face Shape brush and ohmygod the difference is unreal. It just goes to show how important the right brush is to your beauty routine! The Zoeva brush is small and tightly packed so it grabs a good amount of product but also blends it super easily and precisely and takes no time in the morning.

IMG_3736.png

Overall, I really like this contouring kit. I am yet to give the really dark shades a go, but I’d use them at the base of my contour for more dramatic looks, and the middle contour shade will be a great bronzer for when I want to add more warmth to my face during summer.

Do you own anything from Kat Von D? What are your thoughts? Leave me a comment below so we can chat! Also don’t forget to give this review a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

5 thoughts on “Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Kit Review

  1. Pingback: August Favourites

Leave a Reply

