The Order Of My Makeup Application

After years of watching makeup tutorials and seeing how different people apply their makeup I’ve realised I follow the exact same routine every single time I do my own. This is mostly due to the fact that I’m not doing any dramatic smokey eyes which requires no foundation in the event of serious fallout or needing a completely bare canvas to shape and carve out my brows. I’m curious about every aspect of beauty, including what order people apply their makeup in, so I thought you would be too. I’ve created this handy little diagram with some quick reviews on the products featured, so I hope you enjoy this post!

I was inspired to do this after seeing Fiona from Makeup Savvy’s post about this, so I highly recommend you check out her post as well!

Screen Shot 2017-02-28 at 10.02.15 pm.png

Start

Foundation & Concealer

After my skincare I move straight onto my foundation. A foundation I’ve always loved is the Revlon Colourstay one for oily skin! However I recently bought the one suited for dry skin as my skin has changed and I’m not a huge fan of it at the moment, so I’ll need to test it more. One thing I want to change about my makeup is that I currently don’t own a primer. I’ve just never really felt the need for it? I don’t find my foundation to fade or vanish throughout the day even though I used to have oily skin. In the Summer months though I will definitely invest in one, and I’m at looking at buying the Too Faced Hangover Primer. 

I then move onto concealer and I use the L.A Girl Pro Concealer in the shade Porcelain under my eyes and down the centre of my face to highlight. This concealer has good coverage but I still feel like my dark circles show through somewhat and it’s very pink toned, plus it creases under my eyes all the time. Mecca Maxima is stocking the new Too Faced Born This Way Concealers at the end of this month and I can’t wait to buy one!

Setting Powder 

After I’ve completed all the cream products for my base I set it all with a pressed powder. Because all the other products I’ll use on my face are powders, such as blush and contour, putting down a powder base will make everything else apply smoothly. The new power I just bought during a half price sale is the Maybelline Matte Maker Pressed Powder, and I really like it so far! It keeps me matte, is pigmented, lasts all day, feels really light on the skin and is a colour light enough for my skin tone. It doesn’t stop my eye under area creasing however I suspect that’s my concealers problem.

Contour

At this point I look like a round, colourless, powdered egg so adding some shape is an essential step. Last month I bought the Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Kit and I’m really happy with it! At first I was using a fluffy Smashbox brush to contour and nothing was blending at all so I thought it was a bad kit. I then switched to using the Zoeva Face Shape brush and the difference is insane! This kit blends like a dream in the quickest amount of time and looks so natural and effortless. That’s all I’ll say so far as I have a review on this kit coming up on the blog later this week!

Blush

Because I’m fair and naturally pink toned, when I use bronzer I feel like it’s really obvious and just doesn’t suit me, so I always use blush to give my face some life and colour. I always use the Nars Orgasm blush as it’s a gorgeous universal shade. I’ve used this almost everyday for almost two years and I haven’t even hit pan yet as it’s so pigmented. I highly recommend Nars blushes if you’re looking for something high end. I’m yet to buy another one of theirs, but I’m dying to try the Too Faced Love Flush blushes which are on my Wishlist. Can you tell Too Faced is my favourite brand?

Highlighter

Quite a recent step in my makeup routine is highlighter! I use the BECCA Champagne Pop Shimmering Skin Perfector for special occasions or for normal days when I want to cheer myself up. This is the most stunning highlighter I’ve ever seen and every time I open the case I subconsciously gasp. You can read more of me gushing over this highlighter in my Highlight Review and Comparison post.

Brows

I then move onto my brows and, depending on the event, fill them in slightly with my Chi Chi Brow Pomade in Black Brown and then set them with my L’Oreal Brow Artist Clear Brow Gel. On an every day basis though I just use the brow gel. I quite like the Chi Chi pomade, it’s easy to use, incredibly pigmented, and stays all day. I’ve only just bought this brow gel after finishing my Maybelline Brow Drama, which you can hear more of my thoughts on in my latest Empties, Regrets and Reviews post. I need to use the L’Oreal one more, but so far so good!

Eyeshadow

Once my brows are done I start my eyeshadow which is my favourite part of doing my makeup! Shown here is the Nars Isolde Eyeshadow Duo which is a gorgeous golden and cooper duo. I have a review on it here if you’d like to know more!

Lashes

I always wear mascara and one I always repurchase is the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara! I makes my lashes so long and black and fanned out and doesn’t smudge and give me panda eyes throughout the day. I highly recommend it!

Lips

I don’t wear lip products every day, but when I do I love liquid lipsticks. I recently just bought the NYX Lingerie Liquid Lipstick in the shade Bedtime Flirt and it’s freaking amazing! I’m obsessed with the formula and I can’t wait to go back to Priceline to get more shades. It feels like nothing on your lips and is so smooth and doesn’t emphasise your lip lines, stays on and dries quickly. They’re also (somewhat) easy to get ahold of as they’re sold in select Priceline stores. I’m so used to the struggle that goes into getting Kylie Lipkits or Jeffree Star products that seeing these in stores feels almost too easy.

So that’s the order of my makeup application! How do you apply your makeup? Leave me a comment below so we can chat!

Also don’t forget to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

Leave a Reply

