Empties, Regrets and Reviews 2

Over the last few weeks I’ve ended up with quite a decent collection of empty beauty, skincare and haircare products, so I thought now was the perfect time to do another Empties, Regrets and Review post. In this series I briefly review each empty product and decide whether it was regret or if I’ll repurchase it. My most popular post to date on this blog was the first instalment of this series that I wrote back in March, and you can read that post here! So, let’s get on with the empties and I hope you find these mini reviews helpful!

img_3542

Starting with makeup, I think my Maybelline Brow Mascara has finally bit the dust. There is literally no product left in the tube or on the applicator, but since I refuse to buy drugstore makeup at full price, I’ve been using this dodgy, half empty product until I can find a sale! I liked this brow mascara as it did everything I wanted it to – it shaped, defined and set my brows. However, the fact that the wand has a giant ball on the end means that it’s super easy to get this product in places you don’t want it, meaning your brows could look messy and uneven. I have quite dark, bushy brows so I don’t find the problem an issue all the time. However, if you were someone who is aiming for really neat, precise brows, I think you should avoid this product solely because of its applicator. Will I repurchase it? No, I’m hoping to try out different brands of brow mascaras and the L’Oreal one or the Benefit Gimme Brow are next on my list.

img_3543

I’ve hit pan on both the contour and highlight shades in my Smashbox Step By Step Contour Kit, so I wanted to include this in my empties post even though it’s not fully finished yet. I really enjoyed using this contour kit but I don’t recommend it! I think at $67 it’s way too overpriced now for what you get. I love the contour shade as it’s cool toned and looks great on pale skin. As you can see, I’ve tried out the bronzer shade, but I just don’t like how it sat on my skin and I found it tricky to blend, especially with the brush it comes with. The highlight shade did no highlighting for me as I’m super pale, but it was a good under eye setting power. I wouldn’t buy it again as it’s over priced, and if you have this money you should put it towards the Kat Von D Shade + Light Contour Kit (like I did) or an Anastasia Beverly Hills kit. Cheaper alternatives could be the Models Prefer Contour Kit that you can get at Priceline! Also, all those palettes have six shades instead of three, like this kit has.

img_3542

I’m quite close to finishing my Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in the shade Transparent. I’ve really enjoyed using this powder! I was recommend it from a lot of people and it lived up to the hype. It feels light on the skin and actually keeps your face matte throughout the day, so I’d definitely recommend it to people with oily skin. I do dislike the packaging, the lid comes off easily and I cracked mine the first day I got it, and it’s obvious the writing has scratched off heaps just from me picking it up everyday. Would I repurchase? Yep, but I might keep it as a backup product and also buy another brand of pressed powder to keep trying out new products. I’m interested in the Australis Fresh and Flawless Pressed Powder as it’s very popular but I need to find a shade that would match me!

IMG_3545.png

Another product I’m denying that’s fully empty is my holy grail Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara. I love this mascara as it makes my lashes so long, thick, full and fanned out. I also really love its wand, it’s stiff and straight however it has a curve and the bristles are quite spread out so it doesn’t clump easily. I also love the pink and black packaging! I will be repurchasing this but since I always use it I’m going to try other other brands as well and keep this as a backup.

Onto skincare, I’ve finished my Blistex lip balm and I really disliked using it! I shouldn’t have bothered trying to finish it, but I did in the end and I regret it and certainly won’t be buying more of their products! Apparently Blistex has an ingredient in their balms that dries your lips out more so you continue using their products. I didn’t fully believe it until I tried out the Nivea Repair & Protection lip balm and the difference is so obvious! The Nivea one actually helps my lips rather than just sitting on top of them making it worse. I wouldn’t recommend the Nivea one though, I feel like I have to use a lot of product to get a good layer of protection throughout the day, so I’m again on the hunt for a great lip balm.

IMG_3547.png

A moisturiser I use on my lips, hands and face at night after my shower is my QV Intensive Body Moisturiser which my dermatologist recommended me. This stuff is insane and will seep into your skin and repair any sort of dryness. It’s insanely thick and looks like wax, but it melts and is easy to rub into your skin when it heats up a little. I actually bought a whole new tub of this because my one from last year was empty, so I’ve already repurchased it and I highly recommend it for anyone looking for an intense moisturiser. This fully repairs my lips when used overnight, so I use the lip balm throughout the day to just keep my lips at bay.

IMG_3546.png

Finally, onto haircare, I’ve finished two products recently! The first is the Lee Stafford Poker Straight Heat Protectant which I spray into my hair before I straighten it every morning. This stuff is amazing, and I can’t believe I only started using heat protectants this year. It protects my hair while also stopping it from going frizzy throughout the day and also keeps it silky and smooth. As a bonus, it also has a really nice smell and comes in a pretty bottle! I’ve bought so many of these, so I would highly recommend it.

I don’t use this product much these days as my skin doesn’t get oily anymore due to my acne medication, however when I used to need to use dry shampoo I would always reach for my Klorane Dry Shampoo! I’ve read about a lot of people getting itchy scalps from using the Batiste brand of dry shampoo, but both myself, mum and sister have never gotten that problem from using the Klorane version! From memory it’s around the same price as the Batiste one, so I’d definitely recommend it and have repurchased this multiple times. Both the products above are staples to my hair care routine!

So those were my recent Empties, Regrets and Reviews! I hope this post was helpful, what have you emptied recently? Leave me a comment below so we can chat and don’t forget to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

8 thoughts on “Empties, Regrets and Reviews 2

  1. Pingback: August Favourites

Leave a Reply

