Zoeva Cocoa Blend Eyeshadow Palette Review

Last month when I visited Sephora for the first time a brand I was so excited to see was the Zoeva stand! Zoeva made a name for themselves with their amazing brushes, but since then they’ve branched out and made their own cosmetics. Their brushes are expensive because they’re such good quality, so naturally I expected their makeup to carry that same hefty price tag. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see their 10 shade eyeshadow palettes are only $39! They have quite a few to choose from, but I instantly gravitated to the warm colours in the Cocoa Blend palette. I say this all the time when I review a new eyeshadow palette, but this one has definitely become a favourite of mine, so I’m so glad I picked this one up and not another one! I hope you enjoy this review as much as I enjoy the palette!

IMG_3399.png

Zoeva describes the palette as “inspired by warm truffle colours, delicate nougat shades and shimmery marzipan tones for seductive glamorous makeup”. The collection of shades also come in a variety of finishes including matte, satin, metallic, duo chrome, pearl and matte with glitter. Long story short, I love this palette. I think the shades are pigmented but not over the top which allows for a really easy and seamless blend. They’re not creamy like Too Faced shadows but they’re also not overly powdery. They also don’t have much fall out at all, if any, which is amazing! This palette has cardboard packaging and no mirror, but it’s incredibly slim and lightweight so it’s perfect for travel or small makeup storage spaces. I think if you’re after an affordable palette with a great selection of shades, Zoeva has some great options.

IMG_3398.png

I never bought the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette as my sister bought it so I would just borrow it off her, however I later went on to buy the Chocolate Bon Bons palette for myself. This palette definitely fills that Chocolate Bar shaped hole in my heart! I’m obsessed with the shades and how they perform because they’re not like anything else I own. Below I’ll break down how I’ve been using each shade.

IMG_3401.png

Bitter Start – This matte white shade is perfect for highlighting the brow bone, blending out shadows for a seamless finish or highlighting the inner corners of the eyes for a more awake look. This shade is super pigmented but blends insanely easily.

Sweeter End – This shade reminds me of Marzipan in the Chocolate Bar palette, it’s gorgeous! It’s shimmery so it’s amazing for all over the lid or places just in the centre for a pop of light, or to highlight the inner corner.

Pure Ganache – THIS SHADE. This shade. This is me in eyeshadow form. It’s shimmery, gold, pigmented, super easy to blend, amazing for both day and night looks, I could go on forever. I love shimmery golds and this does not disappoint.

Substitute For Love – I have a story for this shade. This was the first shade from the whole palette that I used, and I was disappointed. It’s not that pigmented? I thought that was so weird, but I used it anyway and blended it into my crease as a transition shade. When I stepped back from the mirror I realised that it’s the most perfect transition shade I’ve ever used. It’s not insanely pigmented for a reason, as it is there to make everything else diffuse seamlessly. It’s now become one of my favourite shades. It’s matte but it has a few random specks of gold glitter thrown in, which doesn’t show up on your eyes, so it’s a bit pointless.

IMG_3402.png

Warm Notes – This shade is stunning. I wouldn’t use it everyday but it’s a beautiful, warm shimmery red/pink colour that compliments all the other warm shades. I haven’t used it too much, but it blends well and looks amazing on the eyes, plus I don’t have any other colour like this in my collection!

Subtle Blend – I use this shade a lot because it’s so beautiful! It’s similar to Pure Ganache which means they work really well together. I pat this all over my lid then blend it out into my crease and the eye look is practically done!

Freshly Toasted – This shade is the darker, warmer sister to Substitute For Love which means when you use them together you get a really beautiful and easy transition. It’s more orange which means it makes blue eyes really stand out as they’re contrasting colours. This shade is way more pigmented than SFL and is fully matte.

Infusion – I have’t used this shade too much as it’s the duo chrome one (I think) which makes it a bit dramatic for everyday wear, but it swatches beautifully and blends amazingly on the eyes. Every palette needs a dark shimmer shade, and this one fulfills that box!

IMG_3403.png

Beans Are White – I have no idea why this dark shade is called what it is, but it’s a gorgeous matte dark brown. I wouldn’t say it’s dark enough to be black, which is why it works so well on the eyes and doesn’t look dramatic! I wore this on my outer corners to darker up a look I wore to a Sunday picnic and it worked really well. I thought I went too overboard and was worried I looked like I was going to the clubs at 2pm on a Sunday, but I had nothing to worry about!

Delicate Acidity – I love the names of the shades in this palette, and this light purple shade is gorgeous! It’s more of a satin finish and it works so well with all the other colours in this palette. Again, I don’t own anything like this shade, so I can’t wait to use it more as I’ve been using the warmer shades heaps recently.

IMG_3400.png

Overall, I highly rate this palette! I think Zoeva hit it out of the park with this palette and it’s definitely made me want to try out everything else they have to offer. I’m dying to get the complete rose gold makeup brushes they released earlier this year, however Australian Sephora doesn’t stock them yet, so fingers crossed they come in before Christmas!

What’s your favourite eyeshadow palette? Leave me a comment below so we can chat! Also give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

12 thoughts on “Zoeva Cocoa Blend Eyeshadow Palette Review

  1. I’ve been lusting after this palette for ages but it’s really not something I need! I have so many similar shades, but I feel like one day I might treat myself..! The shades are gorgeous and it really is quite affordable!

    Tasha // shiwashiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I feel the same looking at the Kylie Kyshadow palette hahaha but the price of this made me really happy! And I use these shades a lot so I hope it won’t go to waste. My mum now wants one because she really loves how it looks on my eyes which I think is so sweet! ❤️ xx

      Like

  2. Pingback: August Favourites

Leave a Reply

