July Favourites

Looking back on July, I realise it was one of the best months I had so far this year. This was largely due to the fact I was on university holidays and finally had time to catch up with my friends over delicious brunches and had time to browse over all the makeup in both Mecca and (for the first time ever) Sephora! Due to all the shopping, time and freedom I had over the holiday I got to try out a bunch of new products and discover so many new favourites, so here is my July Favourites for 2016!

IMG_3274

July was kicked off with my Kylie Cosmetics order arriving and I’m freaking obsessed with her matte liquid lipsticks now! I got Candy K and it’s a gorgeous colour, however it dries darker on your lips than it looks in the tube. If you’re interested in her products I recommend watching a couple lip swatch videos on YouTube just to see how the shades look on different skin tones and when they’re wet compared to when they dry. I have written an entire review on the lip kit and my order process here so you can read that if you’re interested! I can’t wait to buy more of her products and they’re at the top of my makeup wish list!

IMG_3287.png

The thing I loved throughout July was the Balm’s Mary-Lou Manizer highlighter. I bought this a little while ago but only started using it this month, and I really like it so far! It’s the perfect, go-to no fuss highlighter that gets the job done but isn’t a crazy colour or too blinding, making it perfect for everyday. I recently bought the BECCA Champagne Pop highlighter which I love a lot more, but it feels so special to use every day and I don’t want to waste it, so Mary-Lou is the perfect and cheaper alternative. I just did a comparison blog post on those highlighters including the Sleek Solstice highlighting palette, which you can read if you’re curious on my thoughts on all of them.

IMG_3288.png

In July I finally bit the bullet and bought the NARS Isolde Eyeshadow Duo and I’ve loved it ever since. Again, it’s a special item so I don’t wear it everyday like I do with my Too Faced palettes, but it’s so gorgeous and lives up to every expectation I had of it. If you’d like to read more about me gushing over this cult favourite, you can read my Isolde review here!

I found a new favourite foundation in July and it happened by rediscovering an old product! I bought this Rimmel Match Perfection foundation months and months ago, tried it once and didn’t like it and never touched it again – until now! Both my Revlon Colourstay and Maybelline Fit Me foundations were running out and I wasn’t fully happy with them to get a new bottle, so I went through my collection and found this. I’m in the shade 081 Fair Ivory and while I do think it’s too light for me when first applied, it settles throughout the day and my contour and blush give my face some life. I think if you’re unsure of what foundation colour to pick in store, go lighter rather than darker, as some foundations will oxidise during the day and go orange – which this one doesn’t do! After a few months foundations tend to not work on me anymore, so I’m hesitant to do a full review on this right now. I also think Rimmel have redo the formula of this foundation recently and I have an old bottle, so I’ll try that next when this runs out and report back!

IMG_3289.png

I also got into brow products this month and bought the Chi Chi Brow Pomade in Black Brown. After only using it once I knew I wouldn’t be able to leave the house without doing this small step! I use my Zoeva Wing Liner brush, dip it in, wipe the excess on the back of my hand like Chi Chi tells you to do, then fill my brows in using short, sharp strokes. I don’t block out my brows and completely reshape them because that’s unnecessary, I just run the product through them to give them more colour, definition and length. I then run my Maybelline Brow Drama Brow Mascara through them to fluffy my brows up a bit but to also set them and spread the product put evenly.

IMG_3290.png

I became obsessed with chokers this month after using my Lovisa birthday gift card on three different styles. I bought a thin velvet one which is great for everyday wear, a thick black one that looks for evening, and a silver metal sun design one that I wore in my Metallic Festival Makeup Look blog post.

Now onto my non-materialistic favourites!

  • Like I mentioned before, I went to Sephora for the first time ever! It was amazing and I’m in love with all the products I bought, and you can read all about my experience and my makeup haul here!
  • I got Apple Music! While that isn’t too exciting, I got it because my sister told me she liked it and once I looked into in I saw that because I’m a university student I get it at half price which is amazing! Of course the first thing I added to my library from Apple Music was albums from drag queens, but now I’m listening to Beyonce and Frank Ocean so you know, balance.
  • Not really a favourite but I got all my university marks back and I got three distinctions and I’m so proud of myself! It’s amazing to know all your hard work pays off and that you can just relax (when uni permits it).

So that’s everything I enjoyed throughout July! I hope you enjoyed this post and if you did please give it a “like”! What did you enjoy throughout July?

All the love and thank you for reading,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

8 thoughts on “July Favourites

  1. I absolutely love Rimmel’s Match Perfection foundation! They have changed the formula and no longer have the shade Fair Ivory which I was gutted about because that’s the shade I used and I truly believe (pardon the pun) that it was my perfect shade. Lovely favourites! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww no that’s so devastating! Why do brands have to take shades away?? It’s very white on me but settles down so I’ll have to see if the next shade up is a better match for me! I never hear people recommending this foundation though? Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

