All That Glitters | Highlighter Review + Comparison

It’s safe to say I’m well and truly on the highlighting bandwagon – it only took me a solid year or so. I tend to jump on “trends” when they aren’t even trends anymore because I’m that slow and indecisive on what to buy. A few days ago I realised that while I don’t own every highlighter on the market like others, the ones I do own are quite popular and accessible. It was only when a girl I know posted in a Facebook beauty page asking for a comparison did I realise “wait, I have both of those, and I can help them decide which to buy with some swatches”. I thought it would be helpful to do a post reviewing and comparing the highlighters I have, so here are my thoughts on the Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette, the Balm’s Mary Lou-Manizer, and the BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop Shimmering Skin Perfector! 

IMG_3246.png

Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette

The first highlighter I love is the “Solstice” palette from the English brand Sleek. I had seen and heard all about Sleek from watching years of Zoella, but it only came to Australia recently, and so far I love the brand. This palette, and all Sleek products, can be found at Target stores, and if it looks like it’s out of stock just ask a staff member as they keep them hidden away in drawers to avoid thief.

IMG_3252.png

Price: Around $20 which is great for a palette with so much pigmentation and variety!

Packaging: A++ Stunning, it’s all gold and mirrored and looks like something from Estée Lauder (picture below).

Benefits: Comes with multiples shades to mix and match in a compact case and even had a little brush, however the brush isn’t fabulous.

Product: The pigmentation on these is amazing! They might look a little daunting and reminiscent of the new colourful Jeffree Star Skin Frosts, but they swatch really beautifully and look amazing on the skin. The shades are also a mixture of powder and cream formulations, so I think is great value for money as you’re getting four highlighters and products in one amazing looking case.

Who should buy this: Someone looking to get on the highlighting bandwagon who wants to try out a lot of shades without spending a lot, or is worried they might not highlight often and don’t want to waste their money. Also, any makeup junkie or follower of Jaclyn Hill, NikkieTutorials or Jeffree Star should look into it as those three have also given this their stamps of approval.

IMG_3253.png

the Balm’s Mary-Lou Manizer

Everyone loves this little highlighter, but it took me ages to get it and even once I owned it, it didn’t wow me enough to use it all the time. I think the packaging, and the fact I didn’t have (and still don’t have) a proper brush to apply highlighter with is the reason it took me so long to use this.

IMG_3255.png

Price: $29.95 which is decent if you have your heart set on buying this but a bit steep if you’re still hesitant like I was. I recommend waiting for David Jones to have a sale as I got mine 30% off, which was when I swooped.

Packaging: I dislike the Balm’s packaging as the quirky, vintage vibe doesn’t excite me. While a lot of people love this, I can’t see myself featuring the packaging in a flatlay anytime soon. In terms of sturdiness, I haven’t broken mine yet, but highlighters are known to shatter easily, so don’t pack them in your travel makeup bag.

Benefits: It’s a slim little highlighter with a great sized pan and is a universal highlight shade that can be used as a highlighter, eyeshadow, or all over body highlight.

Product: The shade is super versatile and workable as it would look good on so many skin tones and the intensity can be built up! I’d describe the shade as a warm, washed out yellow shimmer when swatched.

Who should buy this: Anyone wanting a go-to, no fuss, simple but quality highlighter that is also a cult favourite amongst beauty lovers.

IMG_3254.png

BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop Shimmering Skin Perfector

I freaking love this highlighter! It’s the third one I’ve bought and now I’m obsessed with BECCA and want all their highlighters, especially Pearl and Moonstone. It’s one of those expensive but special makeup items I have no regrets getting and I’ll keep it for years to come. I sound like I’m in love with it. I am. Let’s move on.

IMG_3258.png

Price: $64

Packaging: It’s sturdy as it feels like the rubbery, velvet packaging all Nars products have. It looks like a hub cap though, so I really want to know the inspiration behind the BECCA packaging! I still think it looks nice, and it definitely feels luxurious in your hand.

Benefits: You can own a little piece of Jaclyn Hill and her YouTube journey when you buy this, which is why it’s become a best seller! The actual product itself is phenomenal, so I’ll get into that right now.

Product: This is the most amazing highlighter I’ve ever looked at and swatched and I’m so happy I own it! It lives up to it’s name as the shade is a gorgeous warm, champagne gold colour that would look amazing on so many skin tones. It’s definitely darker than Mary-Lou, but I don’t think Mary-Lou would look too white on anyone. This highlighter also feels way more creamier than all the others in this post, but it glides on your skin like a powder. It’s amazing and I recommend BECCA highlighters to anyone.

Who should buy this: Everyone and anyone. But in all honesty if you’re someone who loves makeup, or who wants to treat themselves, or just wants to see what all the fuss is about, this won’t disappoint.

IMG_3256.png

Comparison Swatch

L – R: The cream shades in the Sleek Palette, then the powder shades, Mary-Lou, then finally Champagne Pop.

IMG_3113.png

BECCA is the most pigmented as I didn’t have to do another layer. Mary-Lou is also pigmented but it’s not as creamy as BECCA, it’s more powdery. However, still gorgeous and like the image shows, not as gold as the BECCA one. The Sleek shades are great alternatives if you’re not into the Balm, as they’re pigmented and colourful yet wearable! To make them even more intense, layer one of the cream highlighters down first then dust one of the power ones on top for a glowing goddess look.

So that’s my review and comparison of the highlighters I own, what’s your favourite highlighter? Leave me a recommendation down below so we can chat! I really hope you enjoyed this and that it helped you, so if it did please give this post a “like”!

All the love and thank you for reading,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

16 thoughts on “All That Glitters | Highlighter Review + Comparison

  1. Lovely post! Mary-lou was my first highlighter so it’s special in my heart! I remember when it was considered super intense, but since I got Champagne Pop, it’s subtle in comparison haha! I do really want to get the Sleek palette. I swatched it and the pigmentation is phenomenal though I’m not sure the shades will 100% suit me as they’re either very pale and icy, or quite cool toned. I’ll probably give in though because it’s pretty cheap!

    Tasha // shiwashiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes that’s exactly what I was thinking! I was like “uhh every one loves this and it IS great but look at the BECCA one” hahaha! Yeah if you see it in store then consider it but I think if you have others you could probably give it a miss! I’m a sucker for its packaging haha I had to have it! Xx

      Like

  2. Pingback: July Favourites

Leave a Reply

