Makeup Collection & Storage 2016

For the first time since I started this project back in January I’m finally happy with my makeup collection and how I’ve set up my vanity! I absolutely love watching makeup collection videos on YouTube, some of my favourites being from Zoella and Shaaanxo, and I also find it so interesting to see how people store their makeup. There are so many ways and systems which means everyone’s set up is a little different. I’m excited to share mine and hopefully give you some ideas if you’re thinking of creating a little makeup space for yourself! I say a disclaimer now instead of later, this isn’t me bragging, I just love makeup and have found so much passion and happiness in it, so my vanity represents a new community I’ve found and a lifelong hobby! I’ll get on with it now and I hope you enjoy my vanity setup and makeup collection!

VANITY SET UP

Links to everything will be after the pictures so I’ll just briefly talk about the pieces I have and if I would recommend them. My table is the IKEA Malm Dressing Table and it’s amazing. It comes with a glass top for easy cleaning if you spill something and a long pull out drawer. It’s compact but surprisingly spacious, so I would recommend it for both small and big spaces! I’ve seen some beauty junkies buy themselves huge office desks for their makeup, and while that looks amazing, I just couldn’t justify all that for my little collection. When I do fill this drawer up I’m going to purchase a little set of Alex drawers from IKEA to put on the right hand side as their shallow drawers are great for makeup products.

IMG_2444 2IMG_2448.png

I’m also obsessed with the copper mirror I have from Kmart, it’s only $10 and I use it way more than I use my big wall mirror as it’s closer to my face and has both a normal side and a magnified side. My brush holders are actually pot plant holders from Daiso, so if you’re looking for them, check the gardening section! I think they’re perfect as a lot of holders I found were very short and your brushes would sort of spread out and look messy, but these are nice and tall, plus they’re pink!

IMG_2449

This jewellery holder from Sportsgirl was the final touch I was looking for. I had been searching for some sort of dish to put my earrings and rings in my wasn’t having much luck until I found this!

IMG_2446

ITEMS

TABLE: IKEA “Malm Dressing Table

STOOL: IKEA “Ingolf

BIG MIRROR: IKEA (From years ago though and it’s not on their website anymore, I’m sorry! They still have a lot of styles though!)

COPPER LAMP: Kmart “Copper Table Lamp

COPPER MIRROR: Kmart “Swivel Beauty Mirror

BRUSH HOLDERS: Daiso $2.80 (They are pot plant holders so look in the gardening section if you’re after them, they come in so many colours too!)

UNICORN JEWELLERY HOLDER: Sportsgirl

FAKE FLOWERS AND VASE: IKEA $1 for vase and $1 for each flower

MAKEUP ORGANISATION SET UP

DRAWER DIVIDERS: Kmart $2 for Small and $3 for Medium

IMG_2445

Now to the fun stuff! My makeup is organised using these little plastic trays from Kmart. I have two medium sized ones which are rectangles, and three small ones which are squares. I saw a girl in a Facebook beauty group with about these for her Malm table and I thought they looked perfect, and they are! All five trays fit in perfectly with space behind them and a small space on the end which I filled with a random moisturiser and power.

FIRST MEDIUM SECTION | EYESHADOW PALETTES 

I love eyeshadows and I collect palettes, so this is my favourite section! Here’s all the ones I own.

IMG_2451IMG_2450

I’ve done reviews on most of them, so here are their names plus links to the reviews:

Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette | Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Palette | Chi Chi Spices Palette | Chi Chi Rich Gems Palette | Chi Chi Smokeys Palette | Too Faced Natural Eyes Palette | Maybelline The Nudes Palette | Nars Isolde Eyeshadow Duo

My favourite eyeshadows are the Too Faced ones, followed by Nars and then Chi Chi. I never use the Maybelline palette however it is one I’d take with me if I was traveling somewhere as it’s small, light and versatile and I wouldn’t be sad if it somehow shattered! I’m really happy that the medium tray is big enough for my long TF and Chi Chi palettes, so if you’re looking for the same ones and have either of these palettes you’ll know that these trays fit them!

FIRST SMALL SECTION | ALL LIP PRODUCTS  

I’m not actually that big into lip products, however I am quite happy with my collection as I frequently use all these products, with the reds coming out towards the end of the year and the nudes being great for any time of the year. While I’m not one to own every colour from a favourite collection, I’m really happy I’ve been able to try out a heap of popular formulas like the Lime Crime, Jeffree Star and Kylie Cosmetics liquid lipsticks. On my list next are the Kat Von D and ABH’s products!

IMG_2452

I’ll list the names to all the products here and also link you to a review on them if there is one! My favourite product out of all of them is my Kylie Lipkit, I just love the colour and the formula and can’t wait to get more! When I run out of room in my drawer I’ll probably get a lipstick holder and put them on display on my table instead of in the drawer.

Napoleon Perdis Devine Goddess “Aphrodite” | Rimmel London Lasting Finish Kate Moss Lipstick “107” | Jeffree Star Velour Liquid Lipstick “Anna Nicole” | Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil “Dolce Vita” | Maybelline Colour Drama Intense Velvet Lip Pencils in “630 Nude Perfection”, “140 Minimalist” and “310 Berry Much”

Lime Crime Velvetines “Riot” | Revlon Matte “003 Mauve It Over” | Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick “619 Rose & Shine” | Chi Chi Viva La Diva Lipsticks in “Drop Dead Gorgeous”, “Sex Bomb”, Checkin In” and “Game On” | Hourglass Femme Nude Lipstick in “Nude Number 4” | Kylie Cosmetics Matte Liquid Lipkit in “Candy K” | Rimmel London Exaggerate Lip Liner in “024 Red Diva” | Hourglass Extreme Sheen Lip Gloss “Ignite”

SECOND MEDIUM SECTION | EVERYDAY MAKEUP PRODUCTS

This section is in the middle as that’s where I sit to do my makeup so everything that I want to use for the day is right there. If there’s a new product I have that I want to use or I want to remember to use an old product I’ve forgotten about, I’ll put it in this section so I remember! I think the reason my collection is small (depending on how you define “small”) is because I don’t like collecting face powers or brow gels or contour kits. I buy one when I need one, use it until it’s finished, and then buy a different product so I can slowly try out new things and see what works. I just don’t like the idea of having 10 of every product because I know I’ll never finish anything that way. Also my daily foundations aren’t in this section because they sit standing up in my bathroom where I wet my beauty blender.

IMG_2453

Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Eyeshadow Palette | Nars “Orgasm” Blush | Smashbox Step By Step Contour Kit | The Balm “Mary-Lou Manizer” Highlighter | L.A. Girl Pro Conceal Concealer “Porcelain” | Rimmel London Stay Matte Finishing Powder “001 Transparent” | Chi Chi Brow Pomade in “Black Brown” | Maybelline Master Precise Liquid Liner | Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara | Maybelline Brow Drama Brow Gel in “Dark Brown”

SECOND SMALL SECTION | FOUNDATIONS  

This is my least favourite section because it’s full of foundations that are too dark for me yet are the lightest ranges the brands make! I am yet to give the Match Perfection a whirl again so I’ll put it in my everyday makeup section once I’m done with this post! If you’d like to hear my thoughts on all of them and how they stack up against each other, feel free to check out my post all about “Finding The Perfect Foundation“.

IMG_2454

L’Oréal Paris Infallible 24 Hour Matte Foundation “11 Vanilla” | Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation “081 Fair Ivory” | Rimmel London BB Cream “Very Light” | Bourjois Paris Healthy Mix Foundation “#51 Light Vanilla” | Revlon Colourstay Foundation “150 Buff” | Maybelline Fit Me! Foundation Matte + Poreless “110 Porecelain” | Covergirl Ready Set Gorgeous Foundation “105”

THIRD SMALL SECTION | RANDOM BEAUTY BITS

The final section in my collection is my random beauty bits tray. It consists of mainly concealers, back ups of eye liners and blushes that don’t fit anywhere else!

IMG_2455

Revlon Colourstay Concealer “02 Light’ | Maybelline Fit Me Concealer “10 Light” | Rimmel Match Perfection Concealer “010 Ivory” | L.A. Girl Pro Conceal Concealer “Yellow” and “Green” Correctors | Maybelline Master HiLight 20 Pink Rose | Sleek Solstice Highlighting Palette | Sleek Blush Palette in “Pink Lemonade 369” | Maybelline Master Precise Liner | Rimmel Scandaleyes Liner in “012 Bronze”

Annnnnnd that’s it! That’s my entire makeup collection, how I organise it all plus what my vanity looks like! If you made it to the end of this you deserve a gift of some sort because this post is freaking huge!

How to you store your makeup? Leave me a comment below so we can chat! I really hope you enjoyed this post and if you did, please give it a “like”!

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

13 thoughts on “Makeup Collection & Storage 2016

  1. Love this post I’m always so curious about people’s vanity areas and make up collections. I’m on the look for a new contouring kit, would you recommend the Smashbox one?
    Also I hear you about he foundations haha they really need to make lighter shades! 🙈❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like it but then again I haven’t tried any others so I can’t compare very well haha BUT the contour shade is great for fair skin as it’s cool toned and doesn’t look muddy and so I think you can get both a subtle look but also build it up! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep I have that face fear hahaha but I personally think it’s quite good! I’ve seen some people say it’s tricky to blend but I just go at it lightly and keep building it up, so I think it’s worth a try but also not life changing and a “must have right now” product! X

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

