Winter Makeup Picks

The weather has turned insanely cold recently here in Australia which means winter is well and truly in full swing! My skin changes with the seasons and therefore requires different products to create different looks, so I thought now would be the perfect time to share with you what products I’ve been reaching for lately! I did a post like this a little while ago called “Autumn Makeup Picks“, so you can read that too if you’re interested! There are no rules to makeup, I wear whatever shades and tones on any day of the year, but I do feel like certain trends become more popular during different times of the year and right now this is what I feel like is perfect for winter. So, let’s get into it and I hope you enjoy my winter makeup picks!

IMG_1896.png

My oil skin changes in winter and becomes quite dry and dull, so instead of packing on a million “mattifying” products to counteract my oily skin like I do in summer, I opt for a “dewy” finish foundation. Right now I’ve been using my trusty Revlon Colourstay foundation in the shade 150 Buff. In the past I’ve gone off this foundation because I used to think it oxidised too much on me, it’s full coverage and wasn’t a great match to my skin. However, since it’s not hot and humid anymore I really enjoy full coverage foundations which are way too heavy for summer. This foundation covers everything and stays on all freaking day, hence the name. It’s wonderful for oily skin types so I highly recommend it if you can find a great colour match and want something lasting and full coverage. I’m still unsure if it’s perfect for me, so what I’ve been doing recently is mixing some of my Maybelline Fit Me foundation into it (I’m the shade 110 Porcelain) to lighten it ever so slightly and I think that’s fixed the oxidising problem somewhat.

IMG_1897.png

I’ve also been really enjoying using the L.A. Girl Pro Concealer in the shade Porcelain to highlight my face. I use it under my eyes, down my nose and in the middle of my forehead and chin. I think it works really well with the foundation at giving me a wonderful base, however it does crease under my eyes, so I try not to be heavy handed with it!

IMG_1900.png

On to eyeshadow (my favourite part!), I feel like in winter you can be a bit more adventurous and wear darker shadows. I’ve been dabbling into my Chi Chi Smokeys eyeshadow palette recently and have really liked the effect it gives. It’s my only dark palette, so to avoid looking like I’ve given myself a black eye I’ve been using the smallest amounts to create some really wearable looks. I also recently just bought the Nars Eyeshadow Duo in the shade Isolde from Mecca Cosmetica and I’m so obsessed with it! I think it’s perfect for every occasion, including winter, so I just had to put it in this post. A review post will be up very soon so keep an eye out for that!

IMG_1898.png

With lips I like to keep things simple as my eyes are usually more dramatic, so lately I’ve been loving nude lipsticks with a gloss on the top. My go to lipsticks have always been the Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in the shade 619 Rose & Shine (the gold packaging) and the Revlon  Matte lipstick in the shades 003 Mauve It Over (the silver packaging). Mauve has been dubbed as a dupe for Mac‘s Velvet Teddy, so if you’re on the hunt for that I suggest having a look the next time you’re near a Revlon stand. I love putting a gloss over the top during winter as I think it adds to the dewy look I’m aiming for, so I always use the Hourglass Extreme Sheen gloss in the shade Ignite as a top coat.

IMG_1899.png

Following along in trying to get a “dewy” look as opposed to my extremely matte summer time makeup, I’ve recently become obsessed with highlighters. I know, I am very late to this bandwagon. But my love has come from the Sleek Solstice Highlighting palette. IT’S GORGEOUS, two of the shades look like marble, it’s packaging is gold and reflective, and it’s at Target for about $22 – you need it in your life. It adds such an amazing glow to the skin and I’m not even using a proper brush yet, so I can’t imagine the glow I’ll get when I use the proper tools. I’ve also been using the Nars blush in the shade Orgasm which has gold reflecting particles in it (I think, it looks almost duo chrome). It’s subtle but gorgeous and adds a natural flush of colour to the cheeks, which is exactly what you want when your eye makeup is a bit more dramatic than usual and is the star of the show.

So those are my Winter Makeup Picks! What beauty products have you been using recently? Or what products do you think scream winter? Leave me a comment below so we can chat! Also don’t forget to give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

10 thoughts on “Winter Makeup Picks

Leave a Reply

