Met Gala Favourites 2016

Last week was the first Monday of May which meant it was time for the annual Met Gala held in New York City! The Gala is a fundraiser for the benefit of the Metropolitan Museum of Art’s Costume Institute, and this years theme was “Manus x Machina: Fashion In An Age Of Technology”. To me the Met Gala is all about designs that are artworks, with hours of work sewn into every detail and meaning behind every decision. Here were my best dressed from this years event!

(In no particular order | Photo credit to Vogue)

Zoe Saldana in Dolce & Gabbana 

This train gave me life. Dolce & Gabbana always get it right.

zoe-saldanaDand g.jpg

Kylie Jenner in Balmain

This is the best Kylie has ever looked in my opinion and it’s the perfect mix of simplicity and detail. Plus, the fringe on the bottom of her dress made her bleed, how hardcore is that?

kylie-jenner balmain.jpg

Nicole Kidman in Alexander McQueen

My absolute queen, wearing McQueen. This killed me and instantly became my best dressed. How does one try and reach this level of perfection? You don’t.

nicole-kidman alexander mcqueen.jpg

Poppy Delevingne in Marchesa

It’s becoming pretty evident I love shiny gowns dripping in gems and jewels and diamonds. This look is so modern but gives that nod to the 20s era of fashion.

poppy marschasa.jpg

Beyonće in Givenchy

Literally the only person who can pull off a latex dress. I love the edgy feeling the material gives but the colour and embellishments also makes it look like a pretty, floral design.

bey givenchey.jpg

Katy Perry in Prada

THIS IS WHAT THE MET GALA IS ABOUT. This dress is art and this is what I’m here for. I am everyone in this picture admiring Katy.

katy perry prada.jpg

Florence Welch in Gucci

This is the most perfect combination of Florence and glamour and Met Gala fashion. It’s completely true to her style and a work of art.

florence-welch gucci.jpg

Zoey Deutch in Dolce & Gabbana 

I’ve said this before but this look honestly killed me. D&G’s aesthetic is such a favourite of mine, and this is my dream outfit. Give me all the Dolce and Gabbana crowns and gowns and details.

zoey-deutch.jpg

Kate Hudson in Atelier Versace

Stunnnnning. Speechless. A work of art. Thank you Versace.

 kate-hudson versace.jpg

Claire Danes in Zac Posen

I completely overlooked this dress when I first saw it, but I did love the Cinderella style and I’d wear this any day.

CLAIRE DANES ZAC POSEN.jpg

But then Claire and Zac decided to slay the entire universe and light her dress up. This is phenomenal, and fit the theme perfectly without being a gimmick.

claire-danes-zac-posen-met-gala-bellanaija-april2016_Screen-Shot-2016-05-03-at-14.24.03

I could go on forever but I’ll end it on that lovely note! I hope you enjoyed reading about my favourites from this years Met Gala! Who was your favourite? Leave me a comment below so we can chat and don’t forget to “like” this post if you enjoyed it!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

8 thoughts on “Met Gala Favourites 2016

    1. Nicole slayed! I love seeing her on the red carpet she’s always looking good. Yeah I understand the dislike, on anyone else I don’t think it would have looked as good, but Beyonce’s body is amazing! That dress shows everything and there’s so room for spanks or corsets or something, so it’s all her! She just looks like a glamazon 😍👏🏼 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

