Maybelline Colour Drama Lip Pencils Review

During last weeks sales I picked up two more Maybelline Colour Drama Lip Pencils and thought I’d do a review on my small but growing collection of them! While there are 10 shades in the range, I currently only own three, which I think are perfect for the upcoming cooler weather. Admittedly, I found these lipsticks a tad daunting at first, as I thought they resembled a crayon more than a pencil. However, once I used them I was blown away by how soft they are to apply, how pigmented they are, and how comfortable they wear on the lips! They apply super smoothly and dry down to a semi matte, velvety finish that feels similar to a lip balm, in my opinion.

IMG_0451.png

In terms of packaging I think these pencils are so cute! The pencils all have a long black lid (which isn’t pictured) that protects them, and I think the white writing is really nice and sleek. My favourite part is the little bit of colour on the end which makes it so easy to see what shade you want, plus the packaging is an exact match to the shade inside, which I find really satisfying!

310 Berry Much AGAIN.jpg

The first shade I bought was actually purchased last year, and it’s the deep, vampy purple shade 310 Berry Much. I watched YouTube reviews on these and fell in love with all the neutral colours, but when I went into stores they were all sold out, so I purchased Berry Much back then, and now I’m so happy I did! While I didn’t wear it much last year, the two new colours I bought have revamped my love for it and I think it’s the perfect shade for Autumn.

I’ve added a photo of each pencil swatched on my lips to show just how pigmented they are! I feel like you don’t need to build the colour up a lot to get this shade either, but if you want to tone it down for a more everyday look you can blot it with a tissue to diffuse the colour! I’m obsessed with this shade, all I need now is some confidence to actually wear it out of the house!

IMG_0434.JPG

Now onto the two shades I recently bought! I mentioned in my “Affordable Makeup Haul” that I spotted heaps of these pencils when I was in Healthyworld, and I’m so pleased that they had the shades I wanted! The first shade I’m obsessed with is 630 Nude Perfection. It’s such a pretty nude shade that’s perfect for everyday wear, or when you want to balance out dramatic eye makeup.

630 Nude Perfection.jpg

While I can’t say if it’s an exact colour dupe, it definitely reminds me of the Kylie Lip Kits and would be worth checking out if you’re on the hunt for something similar. Nude lips are still very trendy, coming back into fashion with the whole 90s wave. I can definitely see myself pairing this with some sharp eyeliner and matte eyeshadows.

IMG_0439.png

The final colour in my review is the shade 140 Minimalist! It’s a beautiful nude shade that’s more pink that brown, like the previous shade.

140 Minimalist.jpg

I’ve been wearing this colour more than the other shades as it’s super natural but leaves such a nice sheen of pink on my lips and looks super feminine! The only down side to these products is that you have to sharpen them, however I find that you can get away with it slightly blunt when applying the lighter shades. For the darker shades I’d put a bit more effort into getting it sharp as it’d be more noticeable that it’s not precise.

IMG_0433.JPG

While I love makeup, lipsticks aren’t my favourite thing as I think they make me look too dramatic and overdone. But these pencils have changed my mind and I’m so excited to extend my little lip collection with Maybelline products and other brands.

I hope you enjoyed this review, and if you did please give it a “like”! What’s your favourite lipstick or brand? Leave me a comment below so we can chat!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

10 thoughts on “Maybelline Colour Drama Lip Pencils Review

    1. Yeah I think they’re really great! Aw I’m so glad! I just like that they feel really light on the lips and since they don’t dry matte, they aren’t drying of flakey at all. Th dark shades will transfer a bit so just be aware of that! Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

