Everyday Makeup Tools & How I Use Them

I’ve recently been using the same toolsย in the same order when doing my everyday makeup routine, so I thought it’s be interesting to share them with you and explain how I use them!

IMG_0312.png

1. Manicare Sponge

My most used tool when doing my makeup is my very dirty (but well loved!) Manicare sponge, which is essentially a Beauty Blender knock off. I was too scared to use it at first, but after a few tries I can’t believe that I used brushes for my face makeup for so long! You soak the sponge under running water, give it a good squeeze, repeat this a couple times until it’s a bit more plump and damp, and then sponge your foundation onto your face. I tip a small amount of liquid foundation onto the back on my hand and use it as a palette. I also use the big flat end for covering big areas of my face like my cheeks and forehead, and use the pointed end to get places like around my nose and under my eyes.

IMG_0313

Once my foundation is blended into my skin in record time, thanks to the sponge, I apply some concealer then go back in with the sponge and blend that in as well. Since I apply conceal to under my eyes I use the same pointed end to get into those areas.

I think this sponge has made a world of difference to my makeup application as the dampness allows the product to easily and evenly blend into my skin super quickly! The only thing I hate about it is that it’s extremely hard to wash and I have no idea how much product is sitting inside the sponge if I feel I can’t clean it properly. I’m dying to get my hands on a proper Beauty Blender, or in the meantime the Real Technique’s version as I hear it’s softer.

2. Real Techniques Setting Brush

IMG_0314

Once my foundation and concealer is all blended in, as they are the only liquid products I use, I go straight in and set the concealer under my eyes with a setting powder as I don’t want them to crease. To do this I grab my Real Techniques Setting Brush, swirl in around in my pressed powder pan to create “loose” powder and then press it under my eyes. I then go the same thing for everywhere else that I’m applied concealer, which is usually around my nose and chin. Doing this with a small brush first, in my opinion, gives a really solid and focused application to those areas where I really want to target. This is one of my favourite brushes as it’s super soft, is so easy to clean and dries incredibly quickly! Plus, one of my favourite YouTubers Shani Grimmond uses it as well sometimes.

3. Too Faced Powder Brush

IMG_0315

Once I’ve set my concealer areas, I grab my big powder brush from Too Faced, swirl it in the same pressed powder and brush it onto the large areas of my face where I don’t get as oily and don’t feel the need to pack on powder to counteract those problems. I have nothing but good things to say about the Too Faced brushes, I’ve had them for quite a while now and they are so easy to clean, dry quickly, are super amazing quality and have never shed a hair.

4. Smashbox Contour Brush

IMG_0316

After I’ve powdered my face and my liquid products are set I go in and start contouring with my powder contour kit. If you had a creme contour product you would contour before you set your face, as it would be easy to blend the shades together when they aren’t set down and mattified with powder. I use the Smashbox contour brush that came with the kit, and I really love this brush! It’s soft but tapered into a shape that easily gives you a chiseled yet blended and natural looking contour line, which is what I’m after. I wouldn’t recommend this brush if you were after a really sharp line, as you’ll need something more dense.

5. Zoeva 127 Luxe Sheer Cheek

IMG_0317

Once I’m happy with my contour and bronzer I move onto blush using my Zoeva 127 Luxe Sheer Cheek brush. I really love how this brush applies blush, it fits perfectly onto the apples of my cheeks and blends it out really well and looks natural. I used to use a Revlon brush (the name of the brush had worn off) to apply my blush but I’m pretty sure that brush was a powder brush as it was huge, so it would pick up not a lot of product and disperse it wherever it wanted! However, I worry the bristles on the brush are almost too soft as some of the hairs stick out weirdly, but I guess that’s because the brush is super soft and fanned out to give you a certain application, and if it was tighter and more dense that wouldn’t happen.

6. Zoeva 227 Luxe Soft Definer

IMG_0318

After all that my face makeup is finally done so I move to eyeshadow and all the brushes that requires! Eyeshadow is my favourite thing to do so I like spending time and trying out heaps of brushes. The first thing I always do when creating any eye look is set down a transition shade which will go in my crease. I used to use my Too Faced Blender brush, but I’ve recently been using the Zoeva 227 Luxe Soft Definer to do this step, and I am obsessed with this brush! It’s very similar to the 127 in terms of having the super soft, fanned out hairs, and it picks up heaps of products but blends in it so well and effortlessly.

7. Too Faced Blender Brush

IMG_0320

I used this brush every time to do my eye makeup before I got my Zoeva brushes a few weeks ago and it’s amazing! I still use it now, but only when my Zoeva brush is dirty, or I’m doing something a bit more dramatic and I want (or need) more brushes to help blend something out. Sometimes when my Zoeva one is dirty, or I feel like I haven’t given it much love, I’ll just use this Too Faced brush. The hairs are longer and more dense than the Zoeva ones so you get a different effect. Plus, just like all the Too Faced brushes, this brush washes and dries so well.

8. Too Faced All-Over Shadow Brush

IMG_0321.png

Once my transition shade is applied and blended out using one of (or both of) the previous brushes, I’ll move onto apply a lid shade. I always use my Too Faced All-Over Shadow brush as the bristles are dense but flat and fanned out, so it grabs and distributes product really well. My Zoeva collection didn’t come with a brush similar to this, so I’m so happy I have this brush as it’s amazing and does a really good job!

9. Zoeva 231 Luxe Petit Crease

IMG_0322.png

Once I’ve finished my eyes I usually like to go back and deepend out the outer corners of the lid by applying a darker shadow. Before I had my Zoeva brushes I would just go in with my Too Faced Blender and pat some darker colour on and hope for the best, but this Zoea brush is perfect. It’s tapered to narrow in on your crease and apply and blend out product from there. Applying product willy nilly with a large brush will ruin your hard work and, if you’re using a darker shade, might make things messy. Using a small, tapered brush will keep things looking focused and clean.

10. Zoeva Liner Brush

IMG_0323.png

On the rare occasion where I can be bothered to do some sort of eye liner technique (I’m usually too scared to and I know I’ll stuff it up!), I’ll grab my new Zoeva liner brush, get some dark eyeshadow onto the brush and run it along my upper lash line for some definition. I’m not sure if it makes a huge difference, but I thought I’d mention it anyway! I get nervous to use my heavy, jet black Maybelline felt liner especially when I want it to look subtle, so the eyeshadow trick is a nice alternative.

So those are all the brushes I use in my everyday makeup routine! I hope you enjoyed this post and if you did please give it a “like”! What type of brushes do you use in your makeup routine? What’s your favourite one to use? Leave me a comment below and we can chat!

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2017-03-18 at 10.48.13 pm

5 thoughts on “Everyday Makeup Tools & How I Use Them

Leave a Reply

