February Favourites

Another month has passed which means it’s time for another monthly favourites blog post! How are we already in March? Easter is this month but Christmas felt like last week? While I try and figure out where the year has gone, here’s a list of all the things I loved throughout the month of February!

IMG_9194.png

My month kicked off with me turning 18 and I’m so lucky and grateful for all the lovely things I got from family and friends! You can read about everything I got in my “What I Got For My 18th Birthday” blog post where I give everyone a special shout out.

While I love everything I received my most used item so far is definitely my Tiffany necklace which I’ve been wearing every day since I got it. I used to think I wasn’t much of a necklace girl,  but I really wanted this style and I’m so happy with it so far. The chain is thin and light so I don’t feel it but the pendant is heavy enough for it to stay in place and not travel around my neck.

IMG_9198.png

Something else I’ve been using on the daily is “The Olive Branch” shower gel from Lush, which was something that surprised me. This came in a set from my friend Molly, and you can read a full review on it here in my “Birthday Lush Haul” post. I’m so happy with it so far since I’ve never really tried anything from Lush apart from their bath bombs and bubble bars. This smells absolutely amazing for starters. It’s hard to explain the scent but on the bottle it says it contains “fairtrade olive oil, fresh mandarins, bergamot oil an vine leaves”. It’s just so nice as it’s not a ridiculously fruity, sweet, or flowery scent, it just smells so fresh and nice, so if you find yourself in a Lush store I recommend giving it a sniff. I’ve used this 100g bottle for a month and am now running out of it, so I may go and pick up a bigger bottle!

IMG_9197

Another product I’ve been loving is the Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in the shade Dolce Vita. I wrote a blog post about this pencil and called it “The Perfect Valentine’s Day Lipstick” and it really is! I really like branching out and experimenting with colours but am also still afraid of looking too overdone, but this shade is amazing. It’s a really subtle, muted red, almost going into the pink family, and looks perfect for both day and night. It’s also super light on the lips but has great staying power. I’m curious to check out the other shades in the range and maybe pick up a really wearable purple shade for the Autumn and Winter seasons.

IMG_9201

I said before February was my birthday month, and my sister gave me probably the prettiest birthday card I’ve ever gotten! It’s from Abbie Imagine’s Etsy store, and the design is so gorgeous! It’s definitely something I’m going to display in my room for the rest of the year.  Another item from Abbie’s store that my sister got me is this adorable “Pug Mug” mug! It’s so freaking cute and glossy and pugtastic, I’ve been loving having my morning coffee in this mug this past month. On both sides are the pug illustrations and in the middle is the Pug Mug text.

IMG_9202

IMG_9203

Which pug is your favourite? Mine is the Love Pug!

Now onto some non-materialistic monthly favourites that I can’t really capture in a flatlay, mostly due to the fact that they are all TV shows! The first show I’ve really enjoyed this month is Shadowhunters on Netflix. It’s a TV adaption of the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, and even though I haven’t read the books, I’m enjoying it so much! I think the characters have been really well cast and the special effects are great! I think the team that did the movie are also doing the show, which is why it’s at a really nice standard. The only down side is even though it’s on Netflix, it’s a Netflix original series which means the only release one episode a week on Wednesday, so no binge watching! But 8 episodes are currently out, which is more than enough to get hooked in!

My hands down absolute favourite thing ever throughout February was Rupaul’s Drag Race, which I managed to binge two complete seasons plus an online webseries in about a week and a half, maybe two weeks. February is the last month of freedom I had before I started university, and I’m so glad I found this show when I did. I’m not really one to binge watch shows, but I would happily sit and watch an entire season in one hit because I just find it so interesting and funny. I can’t remember the last time I got this invested in a show, let alone a reality TV show. It makes me laugh out loud, it makes me cheer, it makes me want to give them all a hug, it makes me tear up (which never happens to me when watching tv or movies or reading books – it takes a lot for me to cry but somehow these queens get to me!).

I started by watching Season 7 which is was the latest season, and at the same time watching its Untucked webseries on YouTube, then going back and watching Season 6 and Season 5. My favourites from Season 5 were Alaska 5000 and Jinkx Monsoon and my Season 6 favourites were hand downs Bianca Del Rio and Adore Delano. My Season 7 favourites were Katya, Pearl, Trixie, Miss Fame and Violet. I love this show so much I could write 10 entire blog posts about it.

A favourite person throughout February (and every month but especially February) was my lovely friend Hai Xia who deserves a special mention as she’s the only other person I know who’s a Drag Race fan and got me into the show and recommend Untucked. I’ve loved messaging you and giving you my commentary on episodes you’ve already seen and I can’t wait for us to see Season 8!

Another favourite person this month is Hazel Hayes, whom I don’t have the pleasure of knowing in real life, but her Time Of The Month series is the next best thing. I mentioned her entire 2015 series in my January Favourites post, but low and behold, she’s doing the series again for 2016! My friend Molly and I love her series so much and seeing her “January | Time Of The Month 2016” video pop up in my subscription feed made my entire month.

So that’s it! Those were the things I discovered, loved, obsessed over and made my February a really great month. Writing this post was a little weird as I started University in those last few days of February, and those first days at a new place are always scary and off putting. But I’ve learnt friends, YouTubers, pug mugs and drag queens always make everything better.

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

Ps. I’ve changed my blogging schedule! I’m now blogging Mondays and Thursdays instead of Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays!

7 thoughts on “February Favourites

Leave a Reply

