Favourite Celebrity Award Season Looks for 2016

Awards season has been in full force these last few weeks with the Academy Awards just wrapping up today (congratulations Leo!), so I thought now would be the perfect opportunity to share my favourite celebrity red carpet hair and makeup looks for 2016!

Today I’ve gathered my Top 3 looks from my favourite award show ceremonies, the Golden Globe Awards, the Screen Actors Guild Awards, the Grammy Awards and the Academy Awards. So let’s jump straight into it!

The Golden Globe Awards

Globes Faves.jpg

I’ve been obsessed with Zendaya for a while, and her Globes look just proved way! She always looks so elegant and timeless, but also so fresh, youthful and on trend. I thought the nude lips and subtle smokey eyes complemented the colour of her dress so effortlessly which made her a clear favourite in my eyes, plus the tousled middle part hair was gorgeous.

One look that made my jaw drop when I first saw it was of course Kylie Jenner‘s look. The day after the ceremony I found tutorials trying to recreate this look popping up all over YouTube, so it was clear I wasn’t the only one loving it! I think the slick up do is perfect to show off her gorgeous smokey eye and glossy nude lips which mirror her shear illusion dress. Absolute perfection.

My final favourite red carpet look for the Golden Globes is Emmy Rossum‘s eye liner and red lips look! I think it’s so classic and timeless and absolutely gorgeous on her fairer skin. The matte lip is super trendy and pulls the whole look together, and the simple eyeliner accentuates her eyes and balances the red.

The Screen Actors Guild Awards

Sag Faves.jpg

One of my favourite actresses this year is Brie Larson, and while she’s busy collecting all her awards on stage, her red carpet looks having been slaying the fashion game as well. I thought her orange lip was such a cool choice to pair with her light blue dress, both the colours made each other stand out without distracting from her. Her dress was very structural, so her low bun was the perfect choice to let her and her dress shine.

Someone who always makes me gasp at the sight of her beauty is Game Of Thrones star Sophie Turner, and I thought she looked absolutely gorgeous at the SAG awards! She looked fresh and glowing, her nude lip and highlighter allowing her natural beauty to shine through. I also thought her thick wavy ponytail was a fantastic, youthful choice.

Another one of my favourite actresses this year is Alicia Vikander and her SAG Awards hair, makeup and Louis Vuitton dress was such a stand out to me. She looked so natural but sophisticated with her simple hair but embellished gown which made her brown eyes pop.

The Grammy Awards 

Grammys Faves.jpg

A look I loved at the Grammy Awards this year was Selena Gomez‘s long, tousled curls and brown smokey eye! She looked so put together and polished but still herself, and the sharp eyeshadow without any eye liner is a gorgeous look that so many can replicate.

Of course I was excited to see what Taylor Swift would wear this year, and I wasn’t disappointed! I thought she looked edgy yet feminine, her short bob balancing her volumeous skirt out perfectly and her red lip making the whole outfit look cohesive. Very well done!

Someone who blew it out of the water in my eyes was Bella Hadid, who’s subtle smokey eye and slick middle part made her and her beauty centre stage and shine through. I thought she looked amazing but so appropriate  for the event as she’s a model rather than a musician. She looked phenomenal and then I realised she’s 19, and then I was rendered speechless. So perfect!

The Academy Awards 

Today was the Academy Awards, and the ceremony I was most excited for! Alicia Vikander was my Best Dressed with her yellow Louis Vuitton gown and half up half down updo. People are even likening her to Belle from Beauty and the Beast, and I can totally see it! I think she’s just so gorgeous and all her looks this season have made her a real fashion icon on the red carpet in my eyes. Also, congratulations on winning Best Supporting Actress Alicia!

Australia’s very own Margot Robbie was also at the awards, wearing a gorgeous gold Tom Ford gown that made her look like an Oscar herself. I think this look was fantastic, she looks so fresh but also sophisticated and glamorous, plus her wavy hair makes it all look effortless.

My final favourite look from the night was Olivia Wilde‘s white pleated Valentino dress and braided updo. She looked like a true goddess on the red carpet but also so modern and fashion forward. The delicate chain balances the heavier choker while her makeup keeps things simple and the focus on her and her Haute Couture gown. Simply stunning!

So that’s my top three favourite looks from some of my favourite award ceremonies of 2016! Everyone looked absolutely gorgeous but this post would have been far too long if I included everyone I wanted to! I had a lot of fun compiling this post and I hope you enjoyed reading it! If you did please give this post a “like”!

Congratulations to all the winners and nominees this awards season! Which look did you especially love this read carpet season? Leave me  comment and we can chat below!

All the love,

screen-shot-2016-09-10-at-8-53-57-pm

Leave a Reply

