Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Palette Review

Yesterday the new Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons eyeshadow palette finally landed in Mecca Maxima stores across the country and I’m so happy to be able to get one! I’ve been desperately patiently awaiting this palettes arrival since I first heard of it all the way back in November of last year.

IMG_8956.jpg

I thought Australian beauty junkies would get it in time for Christmas, then I thought I’d be able to get it for my birthday, then I thought maybe they were waiting to launch it around Valentine’s Day, but February 23rd was the special day! I’m so excited about this palette that I’ve done a little review on it, so I hope you enjoy it and that it inspires you to go and check it out in your nearest Mecca Maxima store!

IMG_8958.jpg

The Bon Bons palette is the third instalment in Too Faced‘s “Chocolate Bar” series, the “Chocolate Bar” being the original and the “Semi Sweet” being the sequel. Following the success of those two products, the Bon Bons palette comes with 16 cocoa infused eyeshadows all in varied finishes including mattes, satins, shimmers, and glitters. That same cocoa infused technology means that this palette, of course, has that trademark aroma of chocolate when you open it.

IMG_8962.jpg

The outer packaging mirrors the previous palettes by looking like an old fashioned block of real chocolate, while the palettes actual packaging is this gorgeous baby pink tin with hearts embedded onto it. Inside you also get a “How-To Glamour Guide” which Too Faced includes in a lot of their sets to help inspire some ideas. The biggest difference from this palette to its precedes is that the eyeshadow pans are hearts and not the normal squares! You don’t get any less product though with this change. The names of the shades are also embedded on the palette, as the original didn’t have this but Semi Sweet did.

IMG_8959.jpg

Now onto the actual eyeshadows! I think the selection of shades in this palette are excellent and really cohesive with one and another. The Chocolate Bars are generally neutral palettes with varying pops of colour, the original palette had a pop of purple, the semi sweet had a pop of blue, and it’s clear the Bon Bons has pops of pink.

IMG_8960.jpg

Personally when I look at this palette I think it leans more towards the cooler side of shades, whereas the Semi Sweet was very warm toned. Almond Truffle, Cashew Chew and Pecan Praline are wonderful matte transition shades that are very wearable and can take you from day to night. Satin Sheets is the first bigger shade of the two featured in this palette and is a great shimmery highlight shade for your inner corner or brow bone, or even as an all over lid shade. Cotton Candy and Totally Fetch are also gorgeous, Cotton Candy being a really beautiful, wearable pop of colour and Totally Fetch giving you the option to be a bit more adventurous. Café Au Lait is one of my favourite shades in the palette as I don’t normanly see shimmery greys in palettes but can definitely see myself wearing it!

IMG_8961.jpg

The second side of the palette is a lot more my style, not that the other side wasn’t, but I’m more familiar with these shades. I own the Too Faced Natural Eyes eyeshadow palette which is why I think I love the Bon Bons palette so much. I am obsessed with the shade Molasses Chip! I love all types of shimmery goldy, bronze shades and this one doesn’t disappoint! The shade Sprinkles is a gorgeous satin finish shade with a faint pop of pink to it that would work really well as a transition shade when blending Totally Fetch and Cotton Candy. Bordeaux and Mocha are shades I can definitely see myself wearing daily as it fits into my current go-to makeup look.

The shade Earl Grey is gorgeous and so unique to me. I don’t own a lot of palettes, but the ones I do never have blue shades in them, and when swatched this shade looks blue and grey, so it’s really beautiful. The shade Black Current is also a favourite as it looks glittery but is actually shimmery, allowing the colour to actually transfer like that when swatched. I know when Too Faced releases “glitter” shades in their holiday sets it tends to be a layer of glitter on top of a normal shadow, loosing its purpose after a few uses, but I’m glad to see this one is different. Divinity is the second big shade in the palette and is a matte highlight shade, one that will come in very hand for highlighting or mixing with another shade. 

IMG_8963.jpg

Here’s a swatch of some of the shades I was most excited to try out! From the top it Black Current, Molasses Chip, Café Au Lait, Cotton Candy, Totally Fetch, Dark Truffle, Earl Grey, and Satin Sheets. The photo doesn’t do these shades justice, but they are so gorgeous and shimmery and blend so easily because they are so pigmented and smooth.

So that’s the review on the new Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons eyeshadow palette! I hope you enjoyed this post, if you did please give it a “like”! What’s your favourite palette from Too Faced? Will you be checking out this one or looking into one of the original palettes? Leave me a comment and we can chat below!

All the love and thank you for reading,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

14 thoughts on “Too Faced Chocolate Bon Bons Palette Review

  1. Pingback: March Favourites
  2. Pingback: March Favourites
  3. Pingback: Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

