Finding The Perfect Foundation

During 2015 I set myself a few “beauty missions” and one of them was to find the perfect foundation for me. I had been using the same one for years, and since getting into makeup I had tried several different eyeshadow palettes, mascaras, concealers and more, but never attempted to revamp my foundation. So whenever I saw that sales were on I jumped at the chance to try out a few different affordable foundations all from varied brands.

Today I thought it’d be a nice idea to share with you my thoughts on each of the foundations I own, what I like and dislike about them, and how they stack up against one and other. Hopefully this helps you decide which foundation might be right for you if you’re currently on the hunt for a new one!

IMG_8837

The foundations I’ll be comparing today are:

  1. Covergirl‘s Ready Set Gorgeous
  2.  Rimmel London‘s BB Cream
  3. L’Oréal Paris‘ Infallible 24 Hour Matte
  4. Rimmel London‘s Match Perfection
  5. Revlon‘s Colourstay
  6. Maybelline‘s Fit Me! Matte and Poreless

IMG_8838

Covergirl‘s Ready Set Gorgeous Foundation (Shade 105)

After seeing how flawless and gorgeous Shaaanxo looks whenever she wears this foundation, I was so happy to get it on sale and try it out, and I loved it! I thought it made my face look poreless and smooth and felt super light on my skin but looked super full coverage at the same time. I even loved the packaging as I’m a fan of the squeezy tubes. Over time though I realised this shade wasn’t a perfect match for me, and now I don’t use it anymore. I really wish it came in a lighter shade, as I think this is the lightest in the range and it’s still too dark and pink for my yellow toned skin. The consistency dries matte but still (from memory) looked glowy and not cakey.

Jessica’s Rating: 3/5

Rimmel London‘s BB Cream (Shade “Very Light”)

This was another purchase I based off of how it looked on someone else, and that person was my sister! This BB Cream looks amazing on her and is a perfect match (she’s the next darkest shade “Light”) to her skin tone, plus it’s super light and natural looking. So I went out and bought the lightest shade and I can’t get it to look right on me. I find the consistency super thick and cakey, especially for a BB Cream, and I think the shade also emphasises my blemishes instead of covering them. I think the next shade might be a better match for me, but I just can’t get over the weird consistency. I’m curious to try it with a beauty blender instead of a brush as that might make a difference.

Jessica’s Rating: 2/5

IMG_8840

L’Oréal Paris Infallible 24 Hour Matte (Shade “11 Vanilla”)

This is by far the worst colour match I’ve ever made when purchasing a foundation, but in my defence this is apparently the lightest shade in the Infallible range. I think matte foundations and oily skin are a match made in heaven, so I was super excited to try this out, especially since so many people have raved about it online. It is definitely the mattest foundation I own, but it’s also the darkest! I think it oxidises a lot when on your skin (well at least on mine) but I also think the packaging makes it difficult as the tube has a blurred, frosty finish, making the shades look lighter than they are. I love the Covergirl tube a lot more because it’s a clear plastic so the colour is more correct. I’m a little confused with L’Oréal’s foundation range as these foundations come in both tubes and glass bottles, and I’m not sure what the difference is, or if different countries have different packaging? I need to investigate that more because I might find a better match in that range, but I know I’ll never be rebuying “11 Vanilla” again.

Jessica’s Rating: 2/5

Rimmel London Match Perfection Foundation (Shade “081 Fair Ivory”)

I bought this Rimmel Match Perfection foundation on holidays a few months ago, and maybe my face was a little bit tanner than usual, but I tried it and thought it was actually too light for me. Although, testing it out for this blog post has motivated me to give it another try! I know a lot of people really like this foundation, but I do know they have changed the packaging recently so hopefully the formula is still the same. This is one of the only affordable foundations that comes with a pump, so I think that’s a great bonus!

Jessica’s Rating: 3/5

IMG_8841

Revlon Colourstay Foundation for Oily to Combination Skin (Shade 150 Buff)

My current favourite foundation, and ironically the one that made me want to try other foundations, is the Revlon Colourstay foundation! My mum has been wearing Revlon for years, so when my sister and I were growing up and wanting to try out makeup mum recommended us Revlon, and that’s just what we always used. Over time I thought it made my skin look kind of grey toned and one dimensional, so I changed to my Maybelline one (which I’ll talk about in a minute). I very recently just tried it out again, this time with the knowledge about contouring and blush and bronzer, and I’ve been obsessed with it! I think it matches my skin really well (there have been one or two days where I think it looks orange but I think that might have been me being too heavy handed with some bronzer), and it actually makes my skin look flawless and just really pretty. I find that it doesn’t fade throughout the day at all, and it doesn’t wear off my nose either, which is a problem area for me. Very happy to continue using this one!

Jessica’s Rating: 4.5/5

Maybelline Fit Me! Matte and Poreless Foundation (Shade 110 Porcelain)

My HG foundation before I rediscovered the Revlon one, I think this Maybelline foundation is great! It matches my skin tone really well and I think that’s due to it looking more yellow toned rather than pink so it blends and works better on my face. It’s a lighter coverage than Colourstay as that one is super high coverage, so I think Fit Me! is perfect for days when I want a less “flawless” look but still want to wear makeup, like on casual university days, when I’m exercising or just running out to get something.

Jessica’s Rating: 4/5

So those are my thoughts on the foundations above! I have really oily skin, and everyone is different and prefers different things, so please don’t take this little opinion piece as your only indication of which foundation to buy if you want a new one. What’s your favourite foundation to use? Do you change your foundations throughout the seasons as well? Leave me a comment and we can chat below! Please give this post a “like” if you enjoyed it!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

3 thoughts on “Finding The Perfect Foundation

Leave a Reply

