The Beauty Lover Tag

Today I thought it’d be cool to do a “tag” style blog post where I answer beauty related questions since I’ve never really asked myself them before, but also for you guys to learn a little bit more about me. I was inspired to do this post after reading Bloomin’ Rouge’s version and have answered the same questions as her. I’d love to hear your answers to these questions too so don’t forget to leave me a comment below!

IMG_8586

  1. If you could have anyone in the world do your makeup, who would it be? 

While there are millions of amazing and talented makeup artists out there that I would be thrilled to be done up by, since I’ve been binge watching season 7 of RuPaul’s Drag Race these last few days (more about that in my “February Favourites”, coming soon) I’m definitely going to chose to be painted by Miss Fame. Honestly, the skills Fame has is incredible and every episode I’m just in awe of their face and talent. Also, it’s not everyday you get to be transformed by one of your favourite queens. You can watch Fame transform NikkieTutorials here and Jeffree Star here.

   2. What’s your top makeup tip? 

If you accidentally get mascara on your face where it’s definitely not meant to be, don’t touch it straight away. Wait for it to dry completely then get a cotton tip and flick it off. If you attack it while it’s wet you’ll smudge it and then make a better mess that’s harder and more time consuming to fix.

  3. What’s one makeup item you could not live without?

I think mascara makes the biggest difference to me when applied, it just brightens my whole face and makes me look way more awake and put together, so I’d definitely pick that over something like foundation or blush. My current go-to is the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara.

  4. What’s one skincare item you could not live without?

I have to 100% pick my QV Gentle Wash shower lotion as it cleans and smooths my skin like nothing else and (gently) breaks down everything in its path. It has no scent or special look, but it’s just insanely good at taking my makeup off that I even go ahead and clean my makeup brushes with it because I know there are no harmful ingredients or chemicals in it.

  5. What are you worst at when it comes to applying makeup?

I’m terrible at applying liquid eyeliner due to lack of practise and patience. I always think I’ll be able to do a cute little flick in 10 seconds, and then I ruin it and end up with giant Amy Winehouse wings when I was really going for a “natural” look. I think it’s because I never plan on wearing eye liner, then I apply it last minute as I’m finishing my makeup and am definitely not prepared for the time and detail I need for it.

  6. What’s your biggest pet peeve when it comes to beauty? 

I don’t really have beauty pet peeves yet, but I do get disheartened by how “outsiders” view makeup, i.e. something silly or easy. I’m not thinking about dropping university to become a makeup artist or anything, but I know if I did it would be perceived as a step down, which is a struggle a lot of people in the industry would face.

  7. What’s your favourite makeup era? 

I love all the eyeliner from the 60’s, I think it’s so gorgeous and pretty and the most significant “trend” from the past decades.

   8. What’s your guilty pleasure product?

I will forever buy eyeshadow palettes even when I know I have too many, I will just continue to buy more as I think they are the coolest and most fun makeup product ever. I’m currently loving the Chi Chi Spices palette which I did a review on, and even though I’m unsure if pink shades suit my eyes and skin tone I will continue to love it and wear it all the time.

  9. What’s your underdog product?

I don’t think the Revlon Colourstay foundation gets enough praise since, for me, it’s the best foundation I’ve ever tried and doesn’t cost a fortune to own. It’s the most full coverage foundation I’ve used while still looking natural and doesn’t wear off or fade throughout the day or make me look oily. I used to think it washed me out however that was back when I only wore foundation, no bronzer or contour or blush, so of course my face was looking one dimensional.

   10. What was your favourite product of 2015? 

I did an entire 2015 Beauty Favourites blog post which you can read to find out more, but I think if I had to pick one favourite out of that bunch I would pick the Too Faced Natural Eyes palette. It’s just the perfect palette for me, it’s neutral, you can go from day to night with the shades, there’s a matte brow bone highlight, a shimmery gold (my go-to shade), a shimmery pink, matte browns, shimmer browns, and amazing shade names all for such a good price ($50 I think compared to their bigger palettes at $70). Just all in all, hands down a forever favourite of mine.

So those are my answers for The Beauty Lovers Tag! I hope you enjoyed this style of posts and if you did please give this post a “like”! I’d love to hear your answers, so please leave a comment below!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

8 thoughts on “The Beauty Lover Tag

    1. If you love collecting palettes and you love neutrals then I would go for it but I do think it would be a double up if you already own the Naked palette! I’m actually thinking of getting the original Naked palette because it reminds me of Natural Eyes just more extended and broader, so I think you might find Natural Eyes a bit limiting! Natural Eyes was my first ever palette and was perfect for me as a beginner but you seem more advanced! Thank you for the follow! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeh, that’s the reason I haven’t bought it yet as I didn’t want to have too many pallets that are too similar; the naked palette collection is great they have such a great mix of neutrals and pigmented colours and also many matts, personally my favourites are 1 and 2: but of course the choice is up to you! N problem and Thank you too hahahah Xxxx

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post! I agree with so many of your answers. Especially about loving the 60s flick eyeliner. I swear, most of my obsession with my new favourite movie (the Man from Uncle) is about the 60s themed makeup and clothes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

