Top 5 Festive Lipsticks

IMG_6020

If you’re someone like me who tends to shy away from bright and bold makeup options then Christmas time is the perfect opportunity to experiment and try out a red lippie whilst seamlessly blending into the festive atmosphere. For today’s post I’ve gathered together five red lip options that I think are perfect for the holiday season! In no particular order they are…

IMG_6021

1. Rimmel Kate Moss Matte Finish Lipstick 107″ $12.95

A holy grail product amongst both drugstore and Zoella fans alike, Rimmel’s 107 gives you a perfect dark and vampy red lip option that is sure to be a winner in many beauty lovers books. This shade is one of the darkest options in my Top 5, almost falling into a purple family rather than red, however I do think it’s an essential shade for not just Christmas but Autumn and Winter time too. If you live in Australia like me though that’s about three quarters of the year, so this product is pretty universal!

IMG_6022

2. Australis Velourlips Matte Lip Cream “BAR-THA-LONA” $10.49

BAR-THA-LONA marks my first Australis purchase and it definitely won’t be my last! I’m so impressed with the formula of these matte liquid lipsticks because they are actually 100% matte but aren’t drying at all! I wore this shade to my Taylor Swift concert earlier in the month and it lasted the entire day, with me even having to rub it off late at night to get it off completely. I’m not sure what the nude and lighter shades would be like, but I find the formula of these to almost stain your lips, giving you hours of colour and making them fade in a really pretty and natural looking way. BAR-THA-LONA is the brightest of the shades in today’s countdown but is without a doubt my favourite. I can’t wait to buy more Velourlips in the future!

IMG_6023

3. Rimmel Apocalips Lip Laquer “303 Apocaliptic” $15.95

Staying with the liquid lipstick theme my next product of choice is Rimmel’s “303 Apocaliptic”. I would actually define this shade as a dark hot pink colour rather than a red, but I still think it’s something to consider if reds aren’t your thing just yet, as dark pinks can be a great introduction into that realm. One thing I don’t like about this product, and the next, is that the applicator makes things a little tricky to apply, but a lip liner and patience will save the day!

IMG_6026

4. Rimmel Apocalips Lip Velvet “505 Burning Lava” $15.95

Second to last I have also been enjoying Rimmel’s new matte liquid lipstick range, however not as much as the Australis range. I love the shades they bought out, as I own this shade and a dark purple one, but found this lipstick to quickly rub off and fade after eating and drinking. That’s pretty standard for lipsticks and I don’t mind reapplying, but is a bit of a bummer especially considering the Australis ones never need a top up. I do love the packaging of Rimmel’s entire Apocaliptic liquid lipstick range and want to try out their matte nude shade “Atomic Rose” – however it’s always sold out!

IMG_6025

5. Napoleon Perdis Devine Godess Lipstick “Aphrodite” $38

Last but not least in my Top 5 festive reds is Napoleon’s “Aphrodite” lipstick, which is quite sentimental to me as it’s the lipstick I wore to my Year 11 Semi Formal. It’s an extremely dark deep red when in the bullet but looks like a true classic red when on the lips. I’ll be honest and say I haven’t worn it too many times since I got it, but after this post I definitely want to give it some more love. Also the packaging on this is amazing and so beautiful!

IMG_6024

Here’s a post of all the colours side by side for you to compare. The swatches on my arm are in the order of the products on the table below.

IMG_6027

I hope you enjoyed this post and that it gave you that little extra nudge you needed to rock a red lip this holiday season!

All the love,

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 7.35.13 pm

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Festive Lipsticks

Leave a Reply

